“Sunny Side Up” Set

"Sunny Side Up" Set

“Sunny Side Up” Set

Class: Rogue, Monk, Druid

H: Expedition Hood | S: Mok’Nathal Champion’s Shoulderguards | Cl: Not shown
Ch: Wild Draenish Vest | Wa: Mighty Girdle | L: Guardian Pants
G: Guardian Gloves |Wr: Not shown | B: Bogwalker Boots

1h Sword: Whistling Sword (x2)

Status: Finished

Thoughts: This time around, the competition’s theme is “Spring,” more in the sense of “lots of horse races with crazy fashion and champagne yaaaay” than in the season itself.  This contest was more baffling to me than trying to turn a goblin into a druid.  At first I went “the bigger the better” route when it came to hat brims and totally went with cloth (the Vicious Fireweave hat is enormous, amirite?), but I couldn’t cook up a set that I actually liked.  I tried smaller hats.  I looked at turbans.  I gave mail a shot.  I pulled the chest pieces that I have never matched with anything out of Void Storage, hoping for some inspiration, but nothing struck me.

Finally, I changed my approach.  I said, “I should aim for ‘obnoxious.’  How can I, Prinnie, fail to come up with something obnoxious?  I can’t!”

Thus, Bombelina got a second chance to represent the goblins because she wanted to wear something crazy – for a rogue, that is.  You see, while wearing all black gives rogues a +5 to sneakiness, she was tired of that.  EVERYBODY wears black, and that’s boring!  Bombelina wanted a happy, perky rogue-inating outfit that better represented her overall personality.

I didn’t want her to wear white mostly because I have a sneaking suspicion that as a color, white is designed to attract trouble, tomato sauce and any beverage that isn’t water.  As a rogue whose main purpose in life is to open up boxes (while looking ADORBS!), Bombelina doesn’t need any more trouble than she can handle – which isn’t much trouble to begin with.  So what color do I go with?  YELLOW.  Yellow isn’t just happy.  Yellow is HAPPY.

I apparently won by virtue of there being zero competition!  As a goblin at heart, I’m totally cool with easy victories – and there was no bribery, blackmail or explosives involved!  Yay!

7 thoughts on ““Sunny Side Up” Set

    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Thanks. :D Bombelina also blends in exceptionally well during the autumn season, or when somebody’s looking directly at the sun behind her, or if she gets thrown into a vat of butter.

      Reply
  1. Neri

    I really made it too much of a challenge, didn’t I? I was so focused on having a really unique theme for this month that I probably scared off most people. Whoops! You definitely nailed it, though, and I am stoked to be able to finally crown you champion :)

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      I think it was just a combo of the name and deadline right before Thanksgiving here in the U.S. People were probably freaking out more about the pie or turkey than transmog. :D

      Good that I got the concept in the end! On my first read through I zeroed in on “spring,” but missed the rest of it because I was immediately thinking “OMG PASTEL COLORS AND, UMMM, UHHH, BUNNIES AND LEAVES AND GREEN AND THINGS.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

