“Engineer of Damnation” Set

"Engineer of Damnation" Set

“Engineer of Damnation” Set

“Engineer of Damnation” Set

H: Cowl of the Grand Engineer | S: Mantle of the Corrupted | Cl: Not shown
Ch: Vermillion Robes of the Dominant | Wa: Thuzadin Sash | L: Not shown
G: Savage Gladiator’s Mooncloth Gloves | Wr: Not shown | B: Sorcerer Slippers

Staff: Damnation

Thoughts: So Ailabeth’s last, more lady-like lavender look didn’t suit her very well (although now, post 5.1 patch, I can finally see offhands).  Actually, I think I left her in that outfit for about a week before I pretty much had a “OMGWTFBBQ!11 HAVE I DONE” type of fit and went back to the drawing board.  I’ve been fiddling with this set on and off since then.  (I actually wrote the gear list for this post at the end of November.)

The staff (Damnation, which is aaaactually dropped by the Four Horsemen as I recall, not Gluth) is one of my favorites in the game.  It’s got a simple yet super effective design that isn’t too burdened with thingies but still stands out.  That was the basic idea with the rest of this: powerful, but not too burdened with floofy dangly glowy OMGLOOKATME kind of accessories.  Ailabeth probably looks a little warlockian here, but overall, I’m much happier with this set for her.   It better matches her overdramatic personality.

The Cowl of the Grand Engineer was the last thing I needed.  When it dropped, Cal decided to tease me by not rolling on it.  Funny, right?  Sure, except I’d just run Thermalix through the raids for her planned sets and NOTHING she needed dropped (AGAIN), so when the Cowl didn’t show up in my bags and Cal mentioned I would get it “slowly,” I had a slight … uh … well, let’s just say it took me awhile to calm down.

"Engineer of Damnation" is Much BetterSee?  Much better.

“Engineer of Damnation” is Much Better
See? Much better.

8 thoughts on ““Engineer of Damnation” Set

    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      I looove the set name for this one – melodramatic! Dark! EBIL.

      While I like the Vermillion Robes of the Dominant, I think the set they belong to(http://www.wowhead.com/transmog-set=394) is a case study in “TOOOOOO MUCH STUFF.” The robe is busy enough by itself, but then you add the Voltron lion shoulders, the green glow, the purple gloves and the horns … and it’s all ruined.

      I also chose the Vermillion Robes because I spend 99% of my time in Shadowform (of course), and while I have the glyph to lighten the form some, more muted colors can seem washed out. (Shadowed out?)

      Reply
      1. Beetlezombie

        Yes, that’s the one annoying thing about Shadow Form, the shadowing of everything. Although if it wasn’t for that I’d probably forget to activate it most of the time.

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Dood Post author

          I typically only have to reactivate it after a wipe, or if a near-wipe forced me to pull out some form of healing other than Renew/AndThatOtherThing, you know, the other one you can cast without leaving Shadowform.

          I’d probably remember to activate Shadowform because my damn default skill bar is different. I DON’T KNOW WHAT I WAS THINKING.

          Reply
  1. kamaliaetalia

    Niiiice! I’d not thought to use that cowl with this robe, but it’s absolutely perfect! And with the shoulders and the staff, wow!

    I agree with you about the set those robes go with — the individual pieces are great on their own, but the whole set together is a little too much. :)

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Thanks! Yeah, the original set for the robes makes me want to bash my eyeballs out.

      I’m not COMPLETELY happy with the belt – but I’d also hide belts if I could in certain cases, and this would be one. So I don’t know if it’s just me doing some belt-hating or if the belt actually doesn’t work.

      Reply
  2. sveltekumquat

    Someday, I will beg you for help in awesomely dressing the fully armored me. And you will say AW HELL NO I AIN’T GOT THAT KIND OF TIME. And I will cry.

    It will be glorious.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Since coming up with ideas and actually implementing them are two different things, I think it’d go something like this:

      You: ARMOR ME
      Me: SURE HERE’S A LIST OF THINGS
      You: OGOD THAT’S LIKE A POINT ZERO ZERO ZERO ONE DROP RATE
      Me: KTHX HAVE FUN BYE
      You: ….. /sob

      This conversation will, of course, take place in all caps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

