Playing Favorites

The shared blog topic thingus this time around, as proposed by Matty, is all about why a certain character may be your favorite or your go-to char to play.  Given the number of alts I have (I don’t have a problem!  I can quit whenever I want!), I don’t have just one favorite.  If I had to choose, though, I could DEFINITELY narrow it down to the top three.

1. Thermalix

Thermalix Spendtrue

Thermalix Spendtrue: Her True Form

As the second character I created when I first started playing again post-Cata, Thermalix has had her ups and downs over time (and also her different forms, as she was once Versebelg the troll).  I always seem to come back in the end because hunter is quite possibly the perfect class and goblin the most ideal race for me as a player.  As a hunter, I can play independently or with a group.  Speaking of groups, I’m lazy, so the fact that everyone has low expectations for huntards means that I can surpass most people’s low opinions with a minimum amount of effort!  And as a goblin, I thoroughly enjoy being cheerfully demented and in general not taking things too damn seriously.

Thermalix: OMG!

Thermalix ruins Vol’jin’s moment.

Thermalix: Just Sayin'

Thermalix is just sayin’

For better or worse, Therm is probably closest to my actual personality – quirky, intelligent and prone to running into things.

2. Ailabeth

Ailabeth Blisswell

Ailabeth Blisswell

The number two slot goes to Ailabeth, who was the first character I made when I returned post-Cata and who is my namesake.  Though I don’t roleplay very much due to finding it really hard to take things seriously (there’s something rather stilted about using the /em system in public for conversations that would almost certainly be private), Ailabeth tends to be the representative of my darker, more cynical and definitely more destructive elements.  Forsaken are perfect vessels for feelings of sadness, loss, betrayal and fierce independence.

And as a shadow priest, melting brains is always fun.  I also like mind controlling humanoids and forcing them to jump or run around in circles.  I remain disappointed that you can’t make Vrykul /dance.

3. Niremere

Niremere Tasset Lane

Niremere Tasset Lane

Lastly, there’s Niremere, who quite possibly has the most established/typical history of the bunch despite that total lack of roleplaying that I do.  (I felt I had to cook something up to explain why she uses a sword and shield despite being Retribution nine times out of ten!)  As a human and paladerp, Niremere gets to be all the positive, warm and fluffy ideals that I either aspire to or refuse to admit I want on a regular basis.  She is the calm one (in reality I might be calm on one frappuchino, but definitely not none or two) who acts on reason, the just one who seeks to treat all living things with compassion, and the one who will honestly admit to having a totally hopeless crush on the King.  Nir is the one who wants to save All Teh Things even though she logically knows that this is not possible.

4 thoughts on “Playing Favorites

  1. Beetlezombie

    Waw, you really put personalities behind all you characters. Thats neat to see. All my characters names start with beetle, so euhm, guess my shizofrenic nature follows me everywhere. We dont have a problem with that.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Each of mine has to be a unique character, although I did briefly toy with the idea of making a human counterpart to Ailabeth – kinda like her past self in a time warp or something.

      The problem comes with trying to teach all my alts to the new people in the guild. My general rule is, if it’s small, green and running around screaming, it’s probably me.

      Reply
  2. Lorelei

    Nice to get to know a bit about the personalities behind the characters. :)

    And that “if it’s small, green and running around screaming, it’s probably me” comment just made me giggle quite a bit. :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

