“Guild Gladiator” Set, or, “The Rofflestomp” Set

"Guild Gladiator" Set

“Guild Gladiator” Set

“Guild Gladiator” Set

Class: Paladin

H: Golden Circlet | S: Furious Gladiator’s Ornamented Spaulders | Cl: Mantle of Fury
Ch: Breastplate of Wracking Souls (Renowned Guild Tabard) | Wa: Stormforged Belt | L: Furious Gladiator’s Ornamented Legplates
G: Furious Gladiator’s Ornamented Gloves | Wr: Not shown | B: Wrathful Gladiator’s Greaves of Triumph

Shield: Brutal Gladiator’s Barrier
1h Sword: Fang of Truth

Thoughts: DISAPPOINTED HOPES AND DREAMS started this set, but then gorgeousness finished it.

So basically, I’ve been “working” on a different set for Niremere for oh, I think … twenty four weeks or so by now?  It’s complete except for the gloves, which are from a raid with a weekly lockout WHICH NEVER DROP.  She was wearing the incomplete set when Theramore was first nuked off the map, and she’s been wearing it ever since (the gloves will drop next week … hope springs eternal).  But I was getting tired of wearing it without the gloves, and heck, maybe they weren’t dropping BECAUSE I was wearing it.  You know, don’t tempt fate and all that jazz.

Simultaneously, I decided to start tanking on Niremere again.  I accordingly assembled a bunch of tanking gear, which of course didn’t match AT ALL.  At some point I picked up a Renowned Guild Tabard to cover the chest because of the ACK NOT MATCHING, which is when I realized that damn – that’s one hot tabard!

The Furious Ornamented Gladiator’s stuff matched well, I thought, and although normally, the Breastplate of Wracking Souls would never go, all you see are the dark sleeves and the high neck – so it works.

The problem I experienced with this set was more of my own doing than anything else.  Since I didn’t really want to aim for something that involved yet another raid with a weekly lockout (Ulduar, I’m looking at you), I decided sure, I’ll PvP for that pair of boots and shield.  It may be painful, but at least I’m guaranteed to get it.  (Side note: my current quibble is that the gems on the shoulders are blue, while the ones on the shield are green.  I’m telling my OCD side to shut the hell up.)

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.  Apparently, Alliance PvP is le suck (or so I’m told), so coping with the weekly lockout and my bad luck might’ve been easier.

Everybody Just Shut UpThat goes for me too.  BEING SMART ON THE INTERNET, IT DOES NOTHING

Everybody Just Shut Up
That goes for me too. BEING SMART ON THE INTERNET, IT DOES NOTHING

ROFFLESTOMPED.

HELP I'M GETTING ROFFLESTOMPEDAnybody?  Hello?  No?  Well ok then.

HELP I’M GETTING ROFFLESTOMPED
Anybody? Hello? No? Well ok then.

ROFFLESTOMPED AGAIN.

Reverse Rofflestomp FailGOOD GAWD THIS GUY DROVE ME NUTS.

Reverse Rofflestomp Fail
GOOD GAWD THIS GUY DROVE ME NUTS.

I COULDN’T ROFFLESTOMP THIS DUDE AND HIS LIGHTWELL!  URGH!  He was just chilling behind this wall by the flag, merrily healing anybody who grabbed it.  So I tried to punch him, but when he didn’t shield himself, he pulled up a Lightwell that had about 1/3rd my HP and because he can, you know, heal in addition to that (and so can I) – we pretty much entered a total stalemate.  I had to get a friend to come over and help me evict him from the premises, because NOBODY ELSE WAS PAYING ATTENTION.

In good news, I got the boots and shield.  I just lost all faith in humanity (again).

3 thoughts on ““Guild Gladiator” Set, or, “The Rofflestomp” Set

    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      If you’re going to insult the intelligence/skill/whatever of those around you, first make sure you aren’t leaving yourself open to obvious comments (like mine)!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

