Pennies Aren’t Worth What it Costs to Make Them

After learning that flying is bad, casting while moving is bad, and manly orcs boy’s trip is yay great woooo, I stopped looking at WoD updates.  I hit my max capacity for caring and simply couldn’t muster up any more cares for the subject.  Garrisons?  Fine, whatever.  New models?  Okay, that’s nice, I guess, since it’d be swell if Niremere could actually have facial expressions.  Just let me know when they’re done, because I can’t make myself care enough to nitpick during development, okay?  I get this feeling that WoD is something that is just going to happen to me, like I’ll not be paying attention during a fight and then BAM!  EXPANSION HAS HIT YOU FOR 9999 PHYSICAL DAMAGE! (9998 OVERKILL!)  My other suspicion is that my computer will take one look at the new fancy crap and beg for new settings far under the bare minimum that the game is currently set to.

But I watched the fancy cinematic because why not, I guess, sure.  I got two and a half thoughts about it.

Magnificent Hair Seriously, just look at it.  It's freaking magnificent.

Magnificent Hair
Seriously, just look at it. It’s freaking magnificent.

1.) Wow, that guy Grommash has amazing hair.  Look at how smooth, straight and luxuriant it is!  I bet he uses some kinda hair dryer and styling mousse to get it so nice.  Takes about a half hour in the mornings or before battle, maybe.

2.) Wow, is it just me, or does Garrosh’s chin get bigger each time he makes an appearance?
2a.) That is a vicious 5 o’clock shadow.  Good Gawd, Garrosh, going back in time and changing sheeyit is absolutely no excuse to let your personal grooming go!

32 thoughts on “Pennies Aren’t Worth What it Costs to Make Them

        1. Leit

          This comment is far too serious, but: it’s actually really great to re-read old books and compare how your views and perspective have changed it the meantime.

          Reply
  1. PlaidElf

    Apparently Blizzard has a thing for manly chins? I loved the cinematic but have to admit I had the same thought about Garrosh’s chin. Holy cow it’s big.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      Blizzard and its fanbase seems to have liked the manly manly men type for a long time (see: male blood elves getting buffed up, continued jokes about male blood elf gender), but Garrosh’s cinematic chin really does set a new standard. It is the chin of chins. He is the Iron Chin. The day ends when Garrosh’s chin blocks the sun, and a new day starts when he moves it.

      Reply
      1. PlaidElf

        I don’t know Deathwing’s chin was also a pretty impressive chin, with the sun blocking and stuff, though perhaps being a dragon and having it made of metal did give him a rather unfair advantage on the chin playing field.
        (Also silly people joking about male blood elf gender is a minor pet peeve. Partly because when I first started playing my first thought was… dang why have these elves been lifting so many weights? They’re huge. And that was about the male blood elves.)

        Reply
        1. Leit

          Recently started gymming again. My *2-year plan* is to get somewhere near as buff as those “scrawny” male blood elves. >.>

          Given that DW got the new chin due to his old one being consumed by immense cosmic power, I think we gotta give him a pass on his blatant chingeneering. Maybe credit even, he’s overcome his disability – with massive overcompensation, but you see where this is going.

          Reply
  2. khizzara

    I was going to say that Garrosh had his whole chin tattooed, but I see other people have beaten me to the punch. So in order to have something to say, I’ll add that tattoos were traditional among the Warsong clan, (ha! I just typoed that as ‘clam’), and he got them so he connect with his roots or something. Also, some people have pointed out that it makes him look a little bit like Deathwing (the original iron chin).

    When you consider that Varian, Garrosh AND Deathwing all have enormous and distinctive chins defining their look, it’s clear that Blizzard has a thing for “manly” chins.

    Reply
      1. radiatic

        I think you’re onto something right there – eventually, Garrosh’s downfall in the end will be him tripping over something and sinking his own zeppelin!

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Powah Post author

          If we get some mirrors together and reflect the chin into a reflection of a chin of a reflection of a chin, that chin may create some sorta time warp of its own …

          Reply
  3. Leit

    I’m picturing Grommash in Tom Cruise’s armouring scene from the Last Samurai, but instead of sixty layers of armour it’s just 45 minutes of a nubile draenei (because cultural appr… er, crossover) combing his luxurious locks.

    Reply
  4. Navimie

    Everyone said the tattoo thing! But I had to go back and watch the hair of Grommash and omg you’re right, his hair is nicer than mine and i actually wash and condition it. Obviously manly orcs use GHD hair straighteners.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      Yeah, I got a huge, backed up list of books to read, so I will likely never, ever get around to reading the WoW books – hence my ignorance of Garrosh’s chinttoo. (I still think giving yourself a permanent five o’clock shadow is a seriously bad idea.)

      Grommash’s manly orc-cave is probably filled with manly hair products and manly styling tools. He gets fabulous results!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

