Flustercluckery Lessens, Urge to Burn Everything with Fire Subsides

Things Have Improved

Things Have Improved
We’re feeling better about this whole Alliance business.

When my first attempt to play Alliance ended in total flustercluckery, I decided I needed to take a far more smashy role in the human realm.  Yes yes, Shadow and even Disc priests can be quite deadly, I know.  But taking a giant mace and crushing all the things (and potentially all the asshats) just feels different, so I remade Niremere into a paladink instead of a priest.  This had the advantage of better armor, a bigger stick sword, and also a chance to pick a better angryface for the poor girl in hopes of looking a little less vacant.  While I like to think that all these things had to do with the peace I then experienced while stomping through the beginning areas, it was more likely thanks to the fact that my cats woke me up at an awfully early hour, and there just weren’t that many assholes awake and/or paying attention at that time of the night.

Hey, maybe this whole Alliance/human starting place isn’t so bad after all.

Goldshire

Goldshire
Forget diamonds. Stupidity is forever.

Oh, wait.  Nope.  Goldshire is still Goldshire.  Let’s just move on.

Gone Back to the Earth Mother

Gone Back to the Earth Mother
TTYL

While wiling away the hours before the sun rose, I leveled Niremere out of Elwynn, through Westfall and into Redridge Mountains right past Redridge Mountains into Duskwood.  Phew!  One of the things I was amazed to discover: Hogger didn’t always live in the Stockades.  You know, as a Hordie, I always thought he was eternally there.  That’s just what Hogger did, right?  He always hung out in the Stockades and beat up on the random groups foolish enough to enter.  Well, no.  It seems Hogger once had a life (kind of) in the great wide outdoors, and he didn’t just wander down there for the heck of it.  Sorry, Hogger.  I think you’re a bit too dumb to take into custody, but what does a wee little paladink like Niremere know?

That's a Lotta Lore

That’s a Lotta Lore
LORE!  I learnz eet!

Westfall could be described thusly: “OMFG KING WRYNN WTF FORGET THE TRUCKING TROOPS AND SEND SOME TRUCKING MONEY (AND FOOD)!!111!”  Although Niremere has a huge crush on Varian Wrynn because of his impressive angryface (if only she could move her own features so expressively!), he totally had the Defias coming.  (Side note: Defias = DEFY US?  /punny)

Reading up on the zone brings some understanding in that massive expenditures on armies and the like left Westfall reeling, but it doesn’t answer all the questions. For example, sure, Stormwind totally dropped the ball – but what about the Church?  If one of the basic tenets of the Church of Light is compassion – to help those in need – then the whole religious establishment effed up pretty hardcore, especially considering that Westfall is practically on its doorstep.

I’ve done a few dungeons on Niremere now, and oddly, not a single darn one of them has been the Deadmines.

12 thoughts on “Flustercluckery Lessens, Urge to Burn Everything with Fire Subsides

  1. tomeoftheancient

    Niremere looks more than ready to handle a fool making threatening remarks now, glad she made it out of Goldshire in one piece.

    Really, I never thought of that, if Stormwind isn’t going to help them someone should make a visit to the Cathedral and let them know what’s up. I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt and assuming they just don’t know. Too busy attending to Stormwind politics maybe.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      It also strikes me as odd that people struggling with poverty would go TO Westfall – sure, there were some folks there already, but many of them are from Stormwind. Wouldn’t you go to the city where there might be more jobs/people to beg from/etc.?

      Reply
      1. Leit

        You mean the city that was recently juicy target #1 of Enormo Fiery Dragon Dude? At least Westfall doesn’t seem to be actively bursting into flames. Or didn’t, anyway…

        Westfall’s got some poverty issues, sure, but it’s at least farmland that no-one’s actively trying to wipe out. Between the choices of orc-besieged Redridge, Worgen-besieged Duskwood, Elwynn and its million bandits, lacking farm patches and proximity to target #1, or Westfall… what would you pick?

        Reply
  2. Leit

    I think you may have missed the ending of Hour of Twilight. Church hasn’t exactly been running at 100%.

    There’s also a really cool set of quests during the pre-Twilight Highlands sequence that goes into what’s up with the church, but I won’t spoil those further.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      I probably have missed the ending – in fact, I’m not even sure I’ve seen it. Thermalix only got relatively geared up recently.

      I wish there was a little more explanation Horde-side, but I guess it wouldn’t make much sense, since we don’t really have the same kind of establishment. “What, one zug zug isn’t enough for you?” and “Oh, the Goblinity!” WERE pretty epic, but don’t really give much illumination as to how the world works.

      On second thought, maybe “Oh, the Goblinity!” does. WE RUN THE HORDE! Mwhahahaha.

      Reply
      1. Prinnie Dood Post author

        I’ve killed Benedictus 11 times so far (I died for the first time myself yesterday when I got knocked off the platform … and then the party wiped because the healer inexplicably Leap of Faith’d the tank into a Twilight wave), but I don’t think I could tell you why the hell he’s out there at Wyrmrest, nor why is Pope Hat is on too tight.

        Reply
  3. Prinnie Dood Post author

    Yeah, but he’s not there NOW! (True story: I’ve only ever seen him sitting on the gates when I log in to Warcraft.)

    It’s not like he actually wiped the place out, or even did a hell of a lot of damage, from what I can see. Okay, so there are some glowy clawmarks on the gates. Life seems to be going on totally normally.

    Plus, if it were still Target #1, why the hell is anyone else staying there? It’s not like everybody’s fled or even hidden themselves inside the Keep.

    Sure, nobody’s trying to destroy Westfall, but I’d argue that the Defias controlling your life through fear, deadly machines and assassinations isn’t exactly something I’d want to walk into either. I just got through the rise of the Defias questline a couple days ago, and I swear that one place was totally on fire. Let’s also talk tornadoes and a big weird hole with trees flying around. Sure, Elwynne has a million bandits, but in Westfall, if you don’t get mugged by your fellow refugees (which seems to be a thing), you might possibly get hurled to your death by a tornado/killed by a Harvester/murdered by a gnoll/stabbed by a murloc.

    Also, why can’t I reply ever to the third (or fourth, fifth, etc.) comment in a thread? Strange.

    Reply
    1. Leit

      Go to the Mage Quarter. Travel approximately north from there. Stop when you get to the massive, smoking crater. Yeah, before Cata that used to be a park bigger than the Mage Quarter. No biggie. 😀

      In lieu of further discussion I’m just going t play the “NPCs are muppets because gameplay” card. 😉

      Your WP’s set up for nesting comments to 3 levels. It’s a common limitation, put in place to prevent increasing margin sizes from squishing the comment text to the point where you’ve got 2 words per line. Which is honestly not a concern with the theme you’re using, because it doesn’t seem to add much by way of margins, to the point where it’s pretty hard to figure out what’s posted in reply to which.

      If you want another depth, go to Dashboard > Settings (left menu) > Discussion > Other Comment Settings, and change the ‘3’ to whatever you prefer.

      Reply
      1. Prinnie Dood Post author

        Oops, missed the crater. (I still can’t navigate around Stormwind very well. I’ve figured out where there’s an AH and a Bank close to the gryphon master, and every now and then I venture to transmog. That’s about it. See you in five hours, I’m looking for the mailbox … there’s an icon, but I don’t see the mailbox … ::goes right past it::) I still stand by the “he’s not there NOW!”

        Why Deathwing-bomb a park, though?

        Thank Gawd you know what’s going on (Stormwind/comments/etc), because I sure as hell don’t.

        Reply
      2. Leit

        You know, I can’t get past the image of Deathwing landing in the park, popping some kid’s balloon, and then chuckling as people run screaming and he wastes the place. It’d fit precisely with how completely arbitrary he’s been acting.

        For the comments and whatnot… someone was thinking like a developer when they designed it, not like a user. Common enough problem.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

