Ruleisiosity

[Edit: WTF IS WITH ME THIS WEEK HITTING THE PUBLISH BUTTON TOO SOON OMGWTF]

So this week’s fancy shared Blog Azeroth topic thingus was proposed by Matty of Sugar & Blood.  It is, “What are your personal rules you wish others would know about you?”

1.) “The Golden Rule” is golden for a reason.

That reason is: it makes it possible to live with other people without going into a homicidal (formerly “postal”) rage all the darn tootin’ time.  Personally, I hope to some day be a truly just person who takes into account all factors yet is able to act with compassion when circumstances call for it.  This may be part of why I go off the deep end in LFD and wind up in total Rant Mode sometimes; I expect a minimum amount of courtesy from others and my Gawd, people can fail hard at that.

2.) Leave people a little better off than they were when you met them.  Or at the very least, don’t make ’em more pissed off than they already are.

Turn off Growl.  This applies literally for Huntards and figuratively for all other classes.

3.) If you aren’t happy, make some changes.

1st Corollary: Drama is bad.
2nd Corollary: I don’t take much in game stuff seriously.

I’ve done enough waiting while suffering in my life already, hoping something in the situation would change.  In the end, the only thing that I can control is myself.  If there’s a problem, I take a look and see what I can do to make it better – why endure misery, especially if it’s taking place in a game that ought to be fun?

I don’t take much seriously, myself included.  When I have taken things seriously, I tend to get short changed on the emotional investment or effort involved.  As a result, I only do silly RP, I ride camels and yaks in Serious Places, I do the bare minimum of dailies (if even that!) and I try my darndest to find cheerful, quirky people only to chat with.  It is not uncommon for me to “adopt” an awesome same-server person I found through LFD.

3.) You Will Get There.

If only through sheer determination or damn stupid luck, you will, eventually, get there.  Hell, even people like me get to 90, and I spend most of my time looking for transmog things.

4.) Remember what Getting There actually means.

Your achievement (be it a mount, level completed transmog set, successful raid or what have you) is, in the end, abstract.  It’s nice to be happy about it, but you shouldn’t pin too much happiness on it, you know?  It’s good to have a sense of self-worth that is not based upon things so far outside your control (or even the realm of the physical).

5.) OMFG YES TRANSMOG IS IMPORTANT

This should be entirely self explanatory.

.

One thought on “Ruleisiosity

Leave a Reply

