So There I Was

I was flying into Mount Hyjal at about 6:30 or so this morning to do Firelands dailies, which I almost never do because they make me think druids are both arrogant and friggin’ cheap.  You need how many Marks of the World Tree again!?  Can’t I recruit you in installments or something!?  Oh, you’re giving me two whole Marks of the World Tree for this quest?  HOW GENEROUS OF YOU.  Gawd!

As a huntard, I tend to have all types of huntard tracking on all the time, which can pose some challenges.  Non-aggressive mobs, for example, are represented by the same dang yellow dot that mining nodes are.  So when I fly, I often have one hand on the controls and one at the minimap, mousing over each dot to see if it’s something I can make money from or safely ignore.

While heading to the Sanctuary of Malorne, I moused over a dot called Ankha.  “HAH!”  I thought.  “Somebody’s an Animal Crossing fan!”

Animal Crossing's Ankha

Animal Crossing’s Ankha

Because I hadn’t had coffee yet, it took a good thirty seconds before I realized that wasn’t a player.  It’d be green if Horde, pale yellow if unflagged Alliance.  Wait just one darn tootin’ minute, that’s …

World of Warcraft's Ankha

World of Warcraft’s Ankha
Way more toothy.

I wish I had a screenshot, but I was too busy going OMFG LAND GOTTA LAND OMFG TAKE ARMOR OFF OMFG WHERE DID IT GO OH OH OH IF SOMEBODY ELSE GETS IT WAIT THERE IT IS COME BACK HERE OMFG CRAP PUT CURRENT PET AWAY TAME TAME TAME TAME DID I TAKE MY ARMOR OFF TAME OMFG MINE.

It still seems a little surreal.  I spent eight hours camping for Skoll, yet here I just practically trip into this Spirit Beast cat.

NAME TIEM!

9 thoughts on “So There I Was

    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Thanks! I had been debating camping out for one of the spirit beast cats (or the owl), so this was a really lucky strike. (It also helped, I’m sure, that since it was so darn early east coast, it was too frickin’ early on the other coast, and so my competition was lessened.)

      Reply
  1. BeetleZombie

    My first thought was … you’re doing Firelands dailies atm? Brrr … those gave me the creeps, and jibbers, and lots of other evil thingies.

    Grats on the pet! (I’m not a kitty fan btw). I prefer hyenas 🙂

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Thanks! I tried to like hyenas, but … all those memories of hyenas biting me! Oh, how’d they jump at me and interrupt my cast!

      Let’s see, the Firelands give me feelings of:
      1.) Annoyance (OMFG WHY DO THE DEER HATE ME I SWEAR THE DEER SPIRIT GHOSTS HATE ME … and the aforementioned cheap druids)
      2.) Guilt (Well, sorry dude, you’re lying there ON FIRE, but I already helped out 8 defenders today, so you’re just out of luck)
      3.) Shock (OMG [insert spoiler name here] ISN’T DEAD YET!)
      4.) Boredom (Are we done with the fire yet? I’m tired of fire.)

      And yes, I’m pretty sure I think in all caps most of the time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

