Gonna Go Pew Pew Pew

So I started another druid.  Yeah.

This time around, however, I scraped together some heirlooms and I seem to be getting farther as a result.  I’m not really sure where or when levels 15 through 17 happened, but they certainly did ’cause now I’m level 18!  (Or was that 19?)  While I can’t claim to have made it past my previous level as a druid, which would be somewhere in the Shadowfang Keep range, I think I’ve figured out part of my issue with druids in general.  I feel like I can’t choose between personalities.

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde All Over Again

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde All Over Again

I mean, if I can’t stick with one class (Exhibit A: my ninety billion alts), how the heck am I supposed to make up my mind with a druid that could do it all (Exhibit B: four mother trucking specs to choose from)?  The best I could figure was to have Daschela here go restoration/balance so I can use the same gear AND have faster queue times when my impatience calls for it.  Plus, pew pew pew.  I almost want to make a macro that says pew pew pew, but I think that would definitely annoy others, and it might annoy the snot out of me too.

In any case, let’s talk about stag form some.  I missed the epic stacking of the stags issue (alas), which was apparently unintended and quickly corrected.  One thing that I think needs to be corrected is the inability to use stag form in some indoors environments, like caves and whatnot.  If shamans can use that ghost wolf form in Wailing Caverns, for example, why can’t I run around as a giant deer of doom?  Do the developers think my antlers might get caught on something?  “Sorry guys, can’t heal you.  Stuck on a stalactite, gotta hearth.”

What Do You Mean, You're Not Joking?

What Do You Mean, You’re Not Joking?

Yeah, Daschela’s a night elf, because I couldn’t get over troll toes or Tauren fingers, and I can’t touch Worgen with a ten foot pole.  I wonder how long she’ll last?  While she’s taken up skinning and herbing, her real money making plan is to dance on mailboxes – in bearform.

14 thoughts on “Gonna Go Pew Pew Pew

  1. Beetlezombie

    I’m currently leveling a resto Druid to, because I like the healing spells and HOTs. But it’s a 5 year plan. Playing as feral is meh … way to many buttons to push, and playing as a bear is even more meh. Plus the whole leveling thing is really getting to me (it’s level 51 atm).

    I wish Blizzard would understand that if a person has 2 level 90 and 5 level 85 characters already, they should be granted a special insta-ding-button. I’m so not interested in leveling anymore, I just want to have a max character of that class and start having max level fun.

    And the whole ‘but you have to know and learn your class through leveling’ argument really doesn’t fly here …

    I want my insta-ding-button! I would so spam the crap out of it.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Strangely, I don’t mind leveling. Maybe because I switch back and forth between dungeons and questing? It gets painful around the 40s and 50s due to the double punch of Dire Maul/Blackrock, but once I’m in the 60s and into Burning Crusade land, I’m usually in the clear.

      If you play bear as a low level restoration druid, you only get two buttons! Yay! Or not yay, since, uh, I couldn’t really tank that effectively … “Hey you! Mob! Get back here! Growl is on cooldown, but pay attention to me anyway! HEY! COME BACK HERE!”

      Reply
  2. Neri

    While I can’t claim to have made it past my previous level as a druid, which would be somewhere in the Shadowfang Keep range, I think I’ve figured out part of my issue with druids in general.

    There’s something about that place that kills the hopes and dreams of young alts just trying to make it to level 30. My Alliance shaman has been living at level 21 for quite a while now because…blegh. I don’t even know, really.

    Anyhow, I approve of Daschela’s headband 😉

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Dood Post author

      Last time, it was beartanking Lord Godfrey with a healer who hadn’t figured out how to feel comfortable while healing, or even button mashing, which resulted in the beginnings of Lord Godfrey’s taxidermy collection.

      My breaking point tends to be in the 40s and 50s with the Dire Maul/Blackrock dungeon combo. In the same way eating something you dislike ninety million times make you not dislike it as much anymore, I am beginning to tolerate Blackrock (though I can never remember whether I am in Lower or Upper or even the Depths, just kill all the things dammit). Dire Maul is and remains a OH GOD WHY WHAT HAVE I DONE WHYYYYY sort of feeling.

      I like it too, and it’s why it is the sole heirloom she is wearing that isn’t already transmogged. Also, crap. “Spring” is the theme this month!? DRUIDS HAVE MORE LEAVES ON THEIR GEAR THAN ANYBODY ELSE. Quick, Daschela, level! Or I could try to be clever. No, leveling is easier.

      Reply
      1. Prinnie Dood Post author

        Or I could read the description and realize that it isn’t “Spring the Season” so much as something like the Kentucky Derby. (Kentucky Derpy?) Pressure’s off, Daschela! A goblin can totally handle that.

        Reply
      2. Neri

        For me, I was healing and the tank felt it was unnecessary to move out of any of the nasty things that Godfrey throws at you. Of course, the tanks death was clearly my fault for not healing… *facepalm*

        I used to be the same with the 40 – 58 bracket, but the last time I did it was when they revamped the old world. I absolutely love what they have done with the zones, especially Thousand Needles and the Badlands. Can you tell that in my old age I am becoming anti dungeon? 😛

        Haha, yeah, I suppose this months competition name is a little misleading! I look forward to seeing what kind of epic creation you come up with this month! 😀

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Dood Post author

          I remember being smart enough to at least aim him away from the clothies and also realizing “OMG OW OW BAD HURT BAD MOVE.” I think my general problem was I’d get the DoT he has in addition to the normal damage (while wearing dinky questing gear), so my HP would just bottom out before the heals could launch any sort of spell with more than an instant cast. The best way I could explain it is, if they had been a button masher and had been mashing some form of healing before the deadly seconds passed, I would have been in the clear, but since they didn’t start casting until they saw the HP drop AND figured out which spell they wanted, I dropped like a fly. It may only be a second of hesitation, but for some reason, that turned out to be a second too much. I concluded I was too squishy and tried a Warrior next (Esplodine, formerly Ugbeis, formerly Thingie), since they got mail/plate. In sum, I didn’t blame the healer – I decided it was just impossible for the healer to cope with my general squishiness.

          There was a period there where I remember healing that fight sucking bad as well, though I recall having like, two spells at that point (early/mid Cata), which may or may not be accurate. I also healed more on shaman at that point, so that could be what I’m recalling.

          Reply
      3. Leit

        Since Cata I find that the breaking point is actually around Stratholme. Tanks that aren’t used to pats and/or mobs that actually hurt will overpull and the blaming the healer. Oh, or blame the healer for dying of the caster mobs that the tank didn’t actually bother to pick up. I see this every second time in either wing.

        Then again, a few of the remainder – not counting those that drop instantly on zoning in – are Amazing Supertanks™, pulling threat on everything and doing around half of the party’s total damage, pulling continuously and smoothly without the healer ever going out of mana. There’s really nowhere for a low level tank to show that they know their business like they can in Strat.

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Dood Post author

          I don’t know why, but I continually get the names for Stratholme and Scholomance mixed up. I only started to remember which is which by going “mance equals manse equals mansion.” Derp.

          Reply
  3. Leit

    Re: troll toes, I’d somehow managed not to notice that tauren have *tails*, despite levelling two of them. Someone made a comment about tying stuff to Bitter’s (my cowpriest) tail while I was on another character, and I argued vehemently that he didn’t have one… until logging and discovering to my dismay that he did, in fact, have a magnificent flailing(!) extension back there.

    Now the preraid checklist will occasionally include “oh, and Bitter, don’t forget your tail!”…

    (!): It actually spins during some emotes. Wtf.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

