Healing LFR

Selecting, or Getting in the Groove
So far, I only have the “basics” in terms of addons updated and refunctioning since the patch.  I haven’t gotten around to installing Vuhdo, partially due to time (I’d have to learn it), but also because I find myself wondering if it would actually speed me up or not – I would still need to move my right hand away from the keys and to the mouse to mouse over someone, and then back again to heal.

No Russian Allowed Either While we're at it, I ban the speaking of French in front of Dark Animus.

No Russian Allowed Either
While we’re at it, I ban the speaking of French in front of Dark Animus.

As a result, I’m debating redoing my keybinds.  All my healing spells align to the right of the keyboard due to leveling via LFD/heroics.  The thing stopping me from doing this, however, is the fact that I keep the same “pattern” across multiple characters.  It helps when I’m reduced to blind button mashing (say, when in a PvP rage), because I’ll generally be hitting the right “type” of hotkey.  Any class that has any sort of healing capabilities will always have those abilities towards the right of the keyboard.  Priest, Death Knight, it doesn’t matter.  The order is typically Damage > Healing > Panic Buttons.  Relearning muscle memory for one character is bad enough, but all of ’em?  Eeeee.

I’m just going to have to keep practicing the motions and hope I get a little smoother at it.

Recount
I always think Recount should be taken with a grain of salt in an LFR setting due to the wide variety of gear that people show up wearing, not to mention the large gap in caring capacity that often exists.  The guy fresh out of heroics just isn’t going to do the same as the guy in ToT LFR/raid gear even if he’s some sort of magic miracle player, you know?

When I am DPS, I primarily use Recount just to keep an eye on whereabouts my DPS is “in general.”  Seeing it in the top 5 (or even in the top 10) is a nice ego boost, but, again, it’s LFR – a lot of that total is either my gear talking or the simple apathy of the team I wound up with.

When it comes to healing, my standards are generally quite simple.  Are we alive?  Then you did good!  Are we dead?  Well, then you did bad.

An Inch from Wiping Does this count as a photo finish?

An Inch from Wiping
Does this count as a photo finish?

But that sort of standard is dependent upon me being the only healer.  I can only attribute the fail 100% to my healing capabilities if I’m the only one in that role, after all.  When there are others, it suddenly becomes harder to determine whether I’m even remotely competent or if I just got lucky and was lumped in with some druid who drastically overgears the instance.  I find it kinda difficult to judge “where I am” in terms of capacity because if we’re alive and if I can probably thank other healers for that, then my only other option is to look at Recount – which is rather meaningless for the reason noted above.

My numbers are low to start off with, and I am making it worse.  As I’ve complained about that whole 300k mana limit before, I’m purposely avoiding Casting All The Damn Time, and I’m trying to choose smaller heals if at all possible.  I want to keep as much mana as I can so that if sheeyit hits the fan near the end, I’m not SOL – I can still pull out the big guns.  If we’re not taking big damage, I’ll toss some spells or a totem at the boss instead of more heals.  This means, however, that my HPS score is, uh … well, let’s just say that I’m generally the second to last healer in the line of numbers.

Dispels?  Close to the top!  General activity?  Practically number one.  Keeping up HOTs like Riptide or even Earth Shield on the main tank?  I’m pro!  Overall?  NO CLUE.

Wipe Paradeeeeeee
And then sometimes it just seems like there’s NOTHING YOU CAN DO TO MAKE THINGS BETTER.

Shut Up Shut Up Shut Up Shut Up If I keep on praying for it, maybe they'll do it.

Shut Up Shut Up Shut Up Shut Up
If I keep on praying for it, maybe they’ll do it.

Even if I healed out the wazoo, I shouldn’t be the top healer – not at 484 gearscore.  Though I’m almost fully gemmed, I’m only partially enchanted at this point in time.  So imagine my surprise when Recount was showing me as #2 for most healing done during my last attempt at Durumu.  I was swamping the tanks and the DPS with all the heals I had, the tanks especially because Oh My God the DAMAGE – one moment they’d be fine, and the next you’d look at ’em to find they’re at 24% HP AND SHEEYIT HEAL CAST FASTER O CRAP!  SOMEBODY BATTLE RES THE TANK, FOR THE LOVE OF GAWD.  Fortunately, I never ran out of mana because we wiped constantly.

What Got Me This Time My combat log was helpful.  It said, "You died."  Thanks, but what did it?

What Got Me This Time
My combat log was helpful. It said, “You died.” Thanks, but what did it?

If it wasn’t one tank or the other suddenly kicking the bucket, it was the first maze phase wiping out over half the LFR.  I personally know that I AM going to die each and every time on the maze phase, because I Just Don’t Get It.  I get dodging bugs with tornadoes now, even if I have iron feet (and I actually made it to the end in Ghost Wolf form last time I tried woooo for progress), but I Just Don’t Get the “maze” of death that Durumu has.  I see the little jumpy purple electric lines on the floor, but somehow, those don’t ever tell my brain where it’s safe to stand.  It’s like in a different language.  I see the lines themselves for themselves, if that makes sense, but I don’t see the shape they’re meant to outline – once my brain DOES see them as outlines, it’s of a different shape, and I invariably wind up standing on the wrong side of things.  My plan (or at least, what WAS my plan) was to die as expected, and then use Reincarnation when the Purple Badness of Gawdawful Painful Death disappeared to pop up and keep on healing.

Except … what’s the point when half the raid or more went down on the same phase?

The third wipe was spectacular, as somebody pulled before the raid was actually ready to go.  We lost like a third of the group and we hadn’t even gotten to the color wheel phase yet!  After that, I just left.  Wiping is one thing, but wiping plus sarcastic better-player-than-thou type commentary is just more than I want to deal with.

Clearly, We're Going to Go Far Together Communication contributes to a cohesive group!

Clearly, We’re Going to Go Far Together
Communication contributes to a cohesive group!

Better-Player-Than-Thou Incoming
Warning!  Danger, Will Robinson, danger Will Robinson!  There’s a priest with a 509 item level who thinks that you suck and you should learn your class!  (484 item level and first time trying to heal Pinnacle of Storms not withstanding.  Actually, it was my second attempt vs. Lei Shen EVER, since he still terrifies me and Therm’s only gone in there once.)

Good Thing You Corrected Yourself Would never have guessed who you meant otherwise.

Good Thing You Corrected Yourself
Would never have guessed who you meant otherwise.

I don’t know what it was last night, but it was like somebody put industrially contaminated mud in the world’s chocolate cake or something – LFR was just filled to the BRIM with self-satisfied, superior players who were all too ready with a snappy retort to put down all the sucky, crappy, incompetent morons like the Rest Of Us.

Lord Forbid We Trouble the Mighty Raider This type of player is just a real big pisser.

Lord Forbid We Trouble the Mighty Raider
This type of player is just a real big pisser.

It’s the first time I’ve ever been a target for this type of behavior in LFR.  As a huntard, nobody really cares what I do as long as I don’t pull the boss or otherwise troll people.  I’ve certainly Said Things Back to this type of player before, but it’s always been in defense of other players, LFR in general or the perceived reason for this wipe or that one – not myself.

I wish I could report that I handled it with both sass and class, but after the second wipe on Lei Shen, I said “#%$& it” and left.   Worse, I started to tear up even though I know – I KNOW – that this kind of sour grape is full of certified bullshit.  It’s just that I been having actual fun in LFR up until this point.  I’d flown under the radar and hadn’t gotten called out by an asshole up until the last damn boss.  I thought I was doing ok – not great, certainly, but getting better – and I was honest to Gawd trying.  And then suddenly here’s this prick with his/her panties in a twist and a bad attitude the size of Jupiter, and the reality of LFR (hey yeah, there are asshole strangers!) intruded again.  @%$# you for raining on my parade.

So then I switched to Therm, thinking well, let me try to get a bow from Tortos or something.  Nobody gives a crap about Therm, right?

Urge to Burn Sheeyit Rising Maybe I should level my warlock next.

Urge to Burn Sheeyit Rising
Maybe I should level my warlock next.

She zoned into a group that had, apparently, wiped on trash.  Ok, whatever – this is current content, so yes, trash CAN still kill you if you aren’t careful.  But this group was also full of the same kind of person that I HATE, all ragging on the new tank for not quite getting sheeyit right (like grabbing the bats but not standing close enough to Tortos), beeyitching at DPS for not attacking this or that and/or sucking in general, DPS making snide comments about healers not healing, such as, “oh, you were?  Guess I didn’t notice,” etc. etc. etc.

What the ever living frick is wrong with people?  I hate this type of player so goddamn much it almost hurts.  If things aren’t good enough by their standards, they ruin every damn thing with their corrosive acid spit and then they feel good about it.  If I could reach through the internet and punch them in the mother trucking face with a jackhammer, I would.  Just what the mother trucking truck do you think are you accomplishing by being a %@#$, jackass?  Do you feel better now that you’ve pointed out how everybody else has effed up except for you?  Do you feel good now that you’ve magically proved your point and superiority with sarcasm?  Go shove a stick up yo…. wait, this is supposed to be a comedy blog.

I just don’t want to listen to their sheeyit.  So I dropped that party too and went to play Animal Crossing, because at least in Animal Crossing, things are mother trucking happy.

All A Matter of Perspective Gotta keep it in mind.

All A Matter of Perspective
Gotta keep it in mind.

34 thoughts on “Healing LFR

  1. khizzara

    Yeah, LFR is full to the brim with jerks. 😦 I’m sorry that people hated on you. I know how much it sucks. Even though my main is half heroic geared, I still get upset and feel bad about myself if people are mean to me. (This has happened a few times on my Hunter that I’ve been gearing up recently. I try not to call attention to myself when I’m at the bottom of the meters, heh. Someone tried to vote kick me the other day but thankfully not enough people agreed with them.)

    I haven’t been following your blog for long, so forgive me if this is a dumb question, but are you new to healing? The way you describe using Vuhdo makes me think that maybe you are. Hopefully you won’t mind some pointers from me about add-ons. If you already know this stuff please disregard it.

    The reason healing add-ons like Vuhdo or Healbot — I use Healbot myself — are so helpful is that they allow you to heal faster and more efficiently. The healing set up you appear to be using right now, based on your description in this post, is selecting a target, then pressing a keybind to cast a heal. This is a very inefficient way of healing because it involves two steps: selecting a target and then casting the heal. Healing add-ons allow you to skip one step, essentially cutting the time between your heals in half.

    All healing add-ons work by using raid frames and spells bound to mouse clicks. When you click on a raid frame it simultaneously targets the player and casts the heal on them. For example, I have Rejuvenation bound to my left mouse button, so when my mouse is over a player’s frame I just need to left click and it casts Rejuvenation on my intended target. You can also bind spells to shift+clicks, ctrl+clicks and alt+clicks, greatly increasing the amount of spells you can have bound, even if you don’t have a gaming mouse.

    This means that most healers play with the following set up:
    – Right hand on mouse, which is hovering over the raid frames, clicking on whoever needs healing. (You can quickly move your mouse off the frames to mouse-turn if you need to get out of the bad quickly.)
    – Left hand on keyboard, generally using the WASD keys for movement and with rarely used spells and cooldowns bound to convenient keys nearby. (For instance, I have spells that I only ever cast on myself bound to my keyboard, because I never have to worry about targeting another player quickly before using them.)

    It does take a little while to get used to a new style of healing, but once you re-train your muscle memory you’ll find that using an add-on is sooooo much nicer than the “default” method. You’ll probably also notice a leap in your performance as your ability to quickly identify who needs healing and get the heals off in time will improve significantly.

    You can use Blizzard’s new standard raid frames to heal by setting up a bunch of mouseover macros, but the add-ons are much more customizable and have far, FAR more options for displaying debuffs/buffs. The most popular healer add-ons are Vuhdo, Healbot and Grid+Clique. (You could probably combine Clique with the standard raid frames too, if you want.) I suggest testing them out to see which one suits you best, (or which has the most intuitive interface for you), though it might also help to use the same one that a friend or guildy uses so you can ask questions about set-up.

    Also, I do still keep my most important heals keybound for the rare occasion when the add-on fails me. There are some fights where you have to heal NPCs that don’t show up in raid frames, for example.

    I hope that helps, and hopefully it doesn’t come across as elitist or condescending. Healing is my favorite part of the game but it can be stressful and can feel like a lot of pressure to perform well, especially when new to the role. Don’t get discouraged! (And please, please don’t take offense if you already knew all this stuff!)

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      Oh yeah, I’m new. I started healing with Electrika at the beginning of April this year, and though I more or less healed my way through to 90 in LFD, it’s just Not The Same in terms of the motions, what with the number of people and amount of damage being way different. So at this point, it’s kind of like I know the basics (OH MY GOD HEAL HEAL HEAL), but I gotta relearn the context in which they occur.

      Thanks for the additional info on Vuhdo – though others have recommended it, this way of explaining it makes it clearer what it does. What does it do about alt specs? Does it keep the same spell bindings, or does it have a secondary setting? I’m also guessing there’s no reason to bind something like Healing Rain to a mouse click, since you have to select a target that is presumably not the ground. So it’d be things like Riptide/Greater Healing Wave/etc.?

      Reply
      1. khizzara

        When I was first leveling my main I leveled to 80 doing exactly what you did — select the target then cast a heal. I got pretty good at it by using the F keys to target a party member and then hitting my healing spell. It worked just fine for 5 man content, but as soon as I tried a 10 man raid it was overwhelming. My guild refused to let me raid until I got a healing add-on (this was long before LFR was around), and so I did because I really wanted to heal.

        At first it was tough, because I was used to moving my character with my right hand on the arrow keys (don’t laugh at me!) and using my left hand to select targets and heal. So I had to both re-learn all my keybindings AND how to move. But once I started to get the hang of it, it was like night and day! I was able to react so much faster because I could keep my eyes on my frames instead of glancing down at my keyboard so often (in addition to just being able to click faster than I could target+heal).

        As regards your specific questions:

        Every time you change specs or characters the add-ons give you fresh keybindings but should keep all other settings. So, it should appear in the same place on your screen after you set it up once, but you’ll have to set up the spell bindings for each spec/class separately.

        I try to keep similar spells in similar places between my healers, so I have like, Wild Growh/Chain Heal/Circle of Healing all bound to right click, (my “AoE healing button”), for example. When I switch from Resto to Boomkin I keep Rejuv and Healing Touch on the same binds, (even though most of the other binds are empty for Boomkin), just so I don’t get confused in an emergency.

        I even use Healbot on my non-healers for certain spells. Like, I bound Mend Pet to left click for my Hunter, so I just have to click my frames to heal my pet. Saves me space on my bars! Healbot lets me monitor buffs too, so I have things like Mark of the Wild, Fort, etc set up in such a way that if anyone is missing my buff the frame turns white. Clicking on the white frame then casts my buff. I use this for self buffs too, like my Paladin seals, Water Shield, and Inner Fire. I’m pretty sure you can do this with Vuhdo too.

        For things with a targeting circle like Healing Rain, Mushrooms, Death and Decay, Hunter traps, etc etc, I don’t use my healing add-on at all. I have a 5-button gaming mouse, so I bind targeting circles to one of the side buttons. (Hopefully that makes sense… I mean, I have healing spells bound to that button too, but the healing bind only goes off if my mouse is hovering over the healing add-on.) If I hover my mouse over a random spot on the screen and click “forward mouse button” the targeting reticule appears over the area where my mouse is pointing, and then I just have to left click to drop the spell there. It’s really fast and super easy. (For Hunter traps I bind the most used one to normal side button, then use modifying keys for the others.) Using the add-on Bartender helps a lot with setting up fancy bindings like that.

        Sorry for all the super long comments, but it’s hard to explain these things! If your eyes haven’t glazed over yet, here are a couple other suggestions that might help, in no particular order:

        When you first switch your keybindings over to mouse clicks, leave your old method in place too. Every time you heal a dungeon try to use the healing add-on, but if the crap hits the fan and you suddenly feel overwhelmed by the new system you can switch back to the old way.

        Whenever I change my keybindings I make a chart of them for myself. For columns I use: Type of Click, Left Button, Middle Button, Right Button, . For rows I use Normal Click, Shift+Click, Ctrl+Click and Alt+Click. Then I assign spells in the chart in a way that makes sense to me. My most commonly used spells go on bindings without key modifiers, and my least used spells go on Ctr and Alt modifiers. Then I keep this chart in front of me while I’m healing so that I can refer to it quickly if I forget WTF I’m doing.

        After you’ve changed your bindings, run a few easy 5-man dungeons. You can even queue for normals if you’re feeling particularly nervous.

        Don’t feel bad if you can’t remember where you put all your spells at first. Concentrate on remembering where the most important ones are, (which for you are probably things like Earth Shield, Healing Wave, Healing Surge, Chain Heal and Healing Stream Totem). Once you feel comfortable with those bindings, try to work in some other totems and cooldowns, (even if you’re just running a 5-man and don’t really need them), to get practice hitting them.

        Don’t get discouraged! Everything takes practice, and healers have to split their attention between keeping themselves alive and keeping everyone else alive, while also dealing with all the mechanics too. When I first started I could either heal or deal with mechanics, but not both. With practice I learned to do them simultaneously.

        So, I totally just wrote you a novel… but if you have any more questions feel free to ask! If you want to email me or use battletags that would be cool too, just let me know! 😀

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Powah Post author

          “When I was first leveling my main I leveled to 80 doing exactly what you did — select the target then cast a heal. I got pretty good at it by using the F keys to target a party member and then hitting my healing spell. It worked just fine for 5 man content, but as soon as I tried a 10 man raid it was overwhelming. My guild refused to let me raid until I got a healing add-on (this was long before LFR was around), and so I did because I really wanted to heal.”

          That’s one of the challenges, really – if you expect to level AS a healer, then LFD/5-man dungeons is the ONLY way to do it. You can’t really quest effectively in a healing spec (or at least I can’t), and quests only unlock at a certain level. That means you can’t grab a meatshield-type friend and run off into highly “advanced” content that he/she might actually NEED you for healing purposes. I don’t know (off the top of my head) about any guilds who are devoted exclusively to raiding, say, Molten Core at level 60. So basically, there’s No Option Anywhere other than 5-man up until LFR. And then suddenly, HOLY SHEEYIT PEOPLE OGOD WTF F1-F5 ISN’T CUTTING IT ANYMORE.

          I want LFR to unlock at any level where there’s a raid available, not just for current content. You’re 60? Congrats, have Molten Core LFR. Hit 80, did you? Have some Naxx. You know, PRACTICE FOR THE FUTURE.

          “I was able to react so much faster because I could keep my eyes on my frames instead of glancing down at my keyboard so often (in addition to just being able to click faster than I could target+heal).”

          Speaking of looking up/down/around, my other issue is buffs/debuffs.

          1.) DBM will say, “Joeschmothegreatest has Bad Debuff!” right at the center of my screen. OK, great. Lemme dispe…. wait. Uh. Gotta go look at the raid frames and FIND Joe Schmo in there to dispel in the first place. I think Joe Schmo is DPS, so he’ll be towards the end … uh … crap, why can’t I have ’em both alphabetical AND by role? And the names are all cut off, so I’m just going to say that “Joeschm…” is him. Buuuut by the time I find him, what with all the don’t stand in crap and keep on healing crap going on, the debuff has worn off! 😀

          2.) Raid frames show me buffs, debuffs and dispellable debuffs in little squares that are about [..] <—- that big. Ok, gonna squint at the little bitty square and figure out if that's something I did that's good or something a boss did that's bad I need to get rid of. If it's something I need to get rid of, is it something I can actually get rid of? Amber Shaper Unsok, for example. I swear to Gawd I have enabled the option to only show dispellable debuffs, but I still see a stupid little square debuff icon when somebody gets mutated and then I'm all hitting my magic debuffer-debuffer and wondering why the hell it isn't going away, until, wait, oh yeah, we have to DPS the person. Dear world: A DEBUFF YOU GET RID OF BY SLAPPING SOMEONE SILLY DOESN'T COUNT AS A DISPELLABLE DEBUFF GAWD.

          3.) I actually had someone complain that I was overriding their Earth Shield with my Earth Shield last night. I tend to look at the raid frames and not the target's portrait, so that means I only see Earth Shield if *I* put it on the target tank. If I didn't do it, then Earth Shield only shows up by their portrait, along with ninety billion other status icons like Righteous Fury and Vengeance and whatnot. WHERE it shows up in those ninety billion icons depends on whether or not I did it too, it seems, it can be at the start or at the end. (Sometimes behind the raid frames.)

          Is this A Thing? Is it legit for a fellow healer to get pissy about this, or was this person just a bit OCD about Earth Shield? I mean, as long as Earth Shield is up and we're not dying for mana, what does it matter, really? (Secret: I sometimes snuck one in here and there when I didn't see it on the tank or just because I Felt Like It.)

          "For things with a targeting circle like Healing Rain, Mushrooms, Death and Decay, Hunter traps, etc etc, I don’t use my healing add-on at all. I have a 5-button gaming mouse, so I bind targeting circles to one of the side buttons."

          My two button/one wheel mouse, a style that has served me all my computing life, now seems somehow inadequate. AND YET I DON'T KNOW IF I CAN CHAAAAAAAANGE. /cries

          "Don’t feel bad if you can’t remember where you put all your spells at first."

          Gawd knows that I can barely keep track of all my crap now! The slowy earth totem thingies, for example. Friend says, "use it!" Me, I'd forgotten I had 'em because I just had to take 'em off my bar for more useful things. Hunter's Mark on my huntard, for example. Since they added the glyph/made it the norm for certain shots to put Hunter's Mark on my target, I took it off my toolbars. Totally failed my first attempts at rare Pandaland tames because I forgot how to use it without, you know, shooting sheeyit.

          "Don’t get discouraged! Everything takes practice, and healers have to split their attention between keeping themselves alive and keeping everyone else alive, while also dealing with all the mechanics too. When I first started I could either heal or deal with mechanics, but not both. With practice I learned to do them simultaneously."

          Like a true multitasking DPS (hit buttons with left hand, pet cat with right), I'm able to half-ass each. 😀 Could be part of my numbers issue. /cough The challenge now is that now the euphoria/adrenaline is gone and reality/work/asshats/"EL OH EL HAVE MORE GOLD" are back.

          People: HEALS Y ARENT U HEALING OH U WERE LOL
          Me (in party chat only): IN THE NAME OF GAWD AND HEAVEN ABOVE SHUT THE EFF UP CAN'T YOU SEE ME SPAMMING CHAIN HEAL AND SHEEYIT RAAAAAEGE
          Friends: …………
          Me (in party chat only): WAT DO YOU WANNA SAY SOMETHING
          Friends: nothin'

          Reply
          1. khizzara

            I 100% agree that the healing leveling experience does NOT teach you how to raid heal. But then, Blizzard’s standard healing set up is a JOKE that doesn’t work well for raiding at all. And now Blizzard assumes that every healer has a healing add on, so they design the fights around that assumption, making it even harder for a new healer without add-ons!

            For dispelling debuffs I use the add-on Decursive. It puts an extra series of little boxes on your screen, but they light up when people get something dispellable. For most purposes it works fine right out of the box, though it does have a habit of showing a few things that you either can’t/shouldn’t dispell and because the boxes are so small it can be hard to tell which box belongs to whom, especially in a large raid setting. Mostly I use Decursive because it saves me keybinds — I don’t have to bind my dispelling ability to a mouse button to use it.

            For debuffs that are important to notice but impossible to dispell I use my standard healing frames. Many important debuffs are usually already included so you just have to ask the add-on to monitor them for you (usually by changing the color of the bar or frame around the bar), and if something isn’t included by default you can set up a custom debuff tracker.

            Most add-ons also have options to see other healers’ spells in the frames, which is OMG OVERWHELMING if you show everything. Should be possible to set them up to show only specific buffs or only other Shaman buffs, which would let you know who already has Earth Shield on them. I haven’t played my Shaman in ages (she’s still level 80…) so I’m not entirely sure how to do it though.

            Basic 5-button mice are probably not too expensive if you want to try them out. I seriously LOVE mine. Mine is a Logitech G500, which is designed for gaming and may be more expensive. (I got mine for Christmas so I’m not sure.) Before that I used a more basic Logitech mouse which worked just fine until it finally broke from 3 years of healing all the things!

            I’ve heard that you can bind spells to up and down scroll wheel too, though I’ve never tried that myself. My gaming mouse even has the ability to push the scroll wheel left and right to use as two MORE buttons, but I figure I’m hopelessly uncoordinated and would be constantly clicking the wrong thing if I tried to use that feature. But can you imagine? That’s 5 potential keybinds just on the mouse wheel! Click, scroll up, scroll down, left side and right side! *feeble mind asplodes*

            Reply
            1. Leit

              The G500 is a quality piece of hardware. Had one back in the day, and loved it for the simple fact that you can change the weight. Most mouses are far too light. Fact that it’s still a popular recommendation so many years after being introduced speaks to its capability.

              Speaking for myself, I *hate* ending up in LFR with another resto shammy. Earth shield has a passive effect that increases the caster’s heals on its target by 10% or so, and most restos – I’m assuming because they’re used to being the only one in their regular raids/because NUMBERS – will thus make sure they have ES up on whichever tank currently has boss aggro, overwriting any other shammy’s ES at the same time. It is _irritating as fuck_.

              Reply
              1. Prinnie Powah Post author

                Oh, so basically she was pissed off at me for ever so slightly effing up her numbers. It’d be useful then if they made it so if I cast Earth Shield, it ups any shaman’s heals on the target, not just my own. Oh well.

                In that particular LFR there were three of us, so I was left kinda twiddling my thumbs because Ms. OCD-My-Numbers-Are-More-Important had the main tank and the other shaman nabbed the off tank.

                Reply
                1. khizzara

                  I probably would have just tossed Earth Shield on whatever DPS appeared to be taking the most damage, just because it would have driven me crazy to not have it on SOMEONE. LOL

                  Reply
            2. Prinnie Powah Post author

              I don’t trust the scroll wheel on my mouse. Mostly because when I try to scroll to adjust my zoom, it always goes the wrong freaking way. o_o It’s as if the thing is trying to confuse me!

              Reply
  2. tomeoftheancient

    If you find a way to reach through the internet and punch them in the mother trucking face with a jackhammer let me know. I will get mine and go with you! Damn funsucking funsuckers!

    Reply
      1. Prinnie Powah Post author

        In hindsight this reply made no sense. What I *meant* was that by upgrading my teleportation machine’s connection, there could be more punching faster.

        Reply
  3. Leit

    It ain’t just LFR. Last night I got kicked from a group in Mana Tombs because… I was spreading my diseases. As an Unholy dk. Who apparently got mistaken for a Blood dk at first, then came up with diseases as an excuse after it was pointed out that I’d had a ghoul out the whole time.

    Yeah.

    LFR groups in general this last week have been a bit weird. On my lvl 90 (also UH) Dk, I barely scraped through to the min ilvl for HoF and yet found myself pretty consistently in the top deeps. So yeah, there are clearly a lot of players out there who aren’t pulling their weight. Might be that others are getting a little tired of picking up the slack. ‘Specially in the older LFRs… noticed that we didn’t seem to get any overgeared deeps for the others to lean on anymore.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      Wow, uh, just … wow.

      It’s weird, but I hadn’t really had any issues with people in LFR for the past couple of weeks up until now. Sure there was the random comment here or there, but for the most part, we came, we saw, we killed stuff and dropped group.

      Does Lei Shen count as an older part of LFR? 😛 That was the first time I got called out. I did notice my proportion of healing going way down once I got into ToT, like my gear was OK for the earlier places but just plain old sheeyit by troll/Thunder King standards.

      Reply
      1. Leit

        It’s probably not your gear. A bunch of the fights in ToT are very shammy-unfriendly, given that the shammy “thing” is healing clumped-up groups that aren’t moving much. Those conditions only really apply on Jin-Rokh, aka. the easiest fight in the tier; Megaera, if the party is competent; and, um, I’m trying to think of another one but can’t. They’re not all as bad as Garalon, but by and large a shammy has to give up on a lot of what they think they know to heal ToT properly.

        Or at least that’s my excuse, since I don’t bluedot well there either despite killing the meters as a barely-geared priest. You’re welcome to swipe it.

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Powah Post author

          Garalon is both boggling and kinda fun as a shaman healer. I *still* can’t tell where the eff the front end of the thing is until I get swiped half to death, so it’s not uncommon for me to stand in crap I didn’t mean to stand in. BUT NOW I CAN HEAL MYSELF MWAHAHAHAH. The awesome part is when I realize that everybody is out of range and/or that person I’m casting Chain Heal on is too far away from anyone to actually be useful for Chain Heal, I can go all GHOST WOLF and RUN AROUND IN CIRCLES until I find a nicer clump of people. Maybe I’ll toss a Riptide on that sucker who’s out there by his/her lonesome. Maybe.

          In any case, I like your excuse and will use it. I may simplify it though. “It’s not my numbers are bad, nobody’s stacking.”

          Reply
          1. Prinnie Powah Post author

            It may be sad that running around in Ghost Wolf is officially awesome to me.

            As a side note, I LIKE the idea of the fancy spirit wolf form glyph, but in practice I can’t stand it, because I can see my teeth through my butt. WHICH IS WRONG AND SOUNDS WRONG.

            Reply
            1. Leit

              Hey, ghost wolf is awesome! I use it by preference over actual mounts. Back in Cata I used to put points into Enhance just to get instant-cast Ghost Wolf. (which is baseline now, ain’t complaining).

              Another issue with the glyph is that it makes you feel slower since you’re so much bigger. Call it the tauren effect.

              Reply
          2. khizzara

            Oh! Another nice feature of Vuhdo! You can set it to suggest Chain Heal targets! Then it’ll indicate who is standing near the most people so your Chain Heal will actually jump!

            Reply
                1. Prinnie Powah Post author

                  I have installed Vuhdo. I am overwhelmed by all the freaking options. Where is the magical checkbox that makes it suggest Chain Heal targets? O_O

                  Reply
                  1. khizzara

                    Vuhdo DOES have a lot of options, but remember: once you set it up the way you like it you never have to set it up again!

                    I don’t use Vuhdo myself, and my poor Shaman is only level 80, so I’m not an expert on this by any means. There are a lot of video guides to setting up Vuhdo. I managed to find this one that’s Shaman specific, but he does jump around a little: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=n9pek1RapGs

                    Unfortunately, he didn’t show how to set up Chain Heal suggestions, though you can see when he goes over HoT icons that there’s an option in the drop down for “suggest AoE”. I googled around a bit and found a couple places discussing the Chain Heal issue:
                    http://www.plusheal.com/forum/m/1833799/viewthread/2894140-chain-heal-cluster-settings-help
                    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/1920719541

                    Honestly, some of the talk about Chain Heal went over my head, probably because I don’t use Vuhdo, heh. But hopefully you’ll find it helpful! And like I said, there’s a bazillion guides to Vuhdo out there, so hopefully Google can answer any questions I can’t.

                    Oh wait: The add-on description on Curse also has links to a bunch of more official tutorials and guides, so I’m sure one of those will have the info: http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/vuhdo

                    Reply
                    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

                      Man, this spambot is oddly on target for this blog! Usually they’re talkin’ about Prada handbags or search engine optimization.

                      Thanks for the links – I will have to check them out 😀

                    2. khizzara

                      I hope all this stuff helps you. I know it probably seems like a lot of work to set things up for an alt, but I do think things will be much easier and more fun in the long run. Let me know how it goes! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Noobhealing Lookback | That Was an Accident!

  5. Pingback: Link Roundups – A Blast From The Past! | Me, Myself... And All Of Them

Leave a Reply

