The Young and the Retless

Nope Nope Nope Nope Running scared!

Nope Nope Nope Nope
Running scared!

After going through the effort of getting Nir geared in heroic dungeon and Darkspear weekly tank plate, and then shelling out the precious gold to (mostly) enchant/gem her for that role, I have utterly and totally chickened out.  I concluded that I it was much safer to DPS my way into ToT, whereupon I will switch my loot specialization to Protection.  Once I acquire ToT tank plate, I will then requeue for Mogu’shan Vaults as a tank.  This will enable me to safely blame the healers for any fail because with my gear, I obviously know what I’m doing amirite?

The Best Part of Being Well Geared I have GOT to get in on this.

The Best Part of Being Well Geared
I have GOT to get in on this.

I think I’ve pointed out before that I suck at Retribution. It’s not a rotation that comes naturally to me, and keeping up Inquisition seems to be beyond my attention span, what with its maximum duration being thirty seconds.  Inquisition, I mean, not my attention span – that’s more like a minute.  It’s also beyond my willpower, because if I have three charges of Holy Power, I want to use Templar’s Verdict with that sheeyit!  Apparently they’re going to increase the duration of Inquisition (as seen on the 5.4 PTR), but it probably won’t solve my latter issue.

Honestly, this is one of the things that prevents me from really enjoying the paladin class.  I’d like to have a “helpful” spec (tanking) and a “loner” spec (theoretically, ret).  But because I can’t seem to master Retribution whatsoever, that means I can tank, or I can tank in terms of watching my performance be about as bad as possible even though I’m actually using skills.  (I’m talking 30k bad.)  Nir got very, very lucky with loot and rolls in Mogu’shan Vaults last week, landing a chest piece, Starshatter and legs.  So I am going to assume getting out of tank plate, reforging/gemming and the enormous size of a human female’s Starshatter will help my miserable performance.  Hope springs eternal!

Secretly, I’d also like 1handed Retribution to actually be a viable option, mostly because that would work better for Nir’s backstory (not like I ever RP, but somehow she has the longest and most complete one) and also because I like shields.  Alas, being so bad to start off with means that I really couldn’t make an effective argument for it.  No, I really do need the big smashy 2handers to compensate for incompetence.

The other day, the DPS queue for LFR was going to be at least a half hour, so I thought I’d go to the Barrens and kill some Commanders for resources and fun.  (I forgot that it’s not fun on melee, because of increased exposure to poison, fire and axes.)  Right after a series of deaths due to not being able to get out of poison fast enough, I accidentally got myself flagged for PvP by a careless tab target.  I died again right before the commander went down, of course.  Was it the commander or a player taking advantage of my distraction?  I will never know.

I knew I was flagged, so I waited until everyone had left to go fight the next Commander before I ressed.  Unfortunately, there was a Stealthed rogue I didn’t see, literally waiting just for me to come back to loot so she could stun me and rogue me in the back.  When I say just for me, I’m not being sarcastic – there was no other flagged Alliance in the area other than myself.  I felt so hopeless in Ret, I just stood there so it would be over more quickly.  That way I could run back AGAIN and try to loot the stupid resources AGAIN.  Then I flew to a hiding spot and remained there until the flag wore, but by then I didn’t feel like doing anything at all.

p.s., I also decided to DPS because tanking Elegon with two FPS seemed destined to be really, really awkward.  I’ve never fallen through the floor before, but they always say there’s a first time for everything.

One thought on “The Young and the Retless

  1. Pingback: Holy Kleenex, Batman! It Was Right Under Our Nose, and We Blew It! | That Was an Accident!

Leave a Reply

