Some Things Never Get Old

Some folks have been bugging me to spend more time Alliance-side.  At the same time, the dedicated Horde players that I know have either been threatening to assassinate my poor lowbie spacegoat or stalk my paladerp if I do.  Ah, faction conflict!  Shows up even at the Friends List level.

As far as I’m concerned, playing Alliance-side more frequently has several issues (not including any charges of favoritism on the part of the game designers):

  1. No goblins.  Goblins would have made the best cross-faction race, not pandas, since we’re loyal to the wallet first and foremost, and our competing cartels would work right into the faction divide.  But it’s a bit late to go back and change that design call, I suppose.
  2. Gnomes are not goblins.  Let me repeat that: GNOMES ARE NOT GOBLINS.
  3. After so long being short and green or arthritic and rotting, it feels downright unnatural to play a character that has a pulse and is considered sexually attractive.
  4. They don’t label the damn docks down at Stormwind Harbor or tell you what boat goes where, so I’m always wondering if I’m getting on the right boat, or waiting at a dock that’s just there for show.
  5. The game designers flipped the sides the bank and portals are on in the Alliance’s Vale shrine.  I’m ALWAYS going to the wrong side.  ALWAYS.

There are some advantages, though.

So Tall, So Weird I fear no puddle.  Which is good, because I don't have Rocket Jump.

So Tall, So Weird
I fear no puddle. Which is good, because I don’t have Rocket Jump.

  1. I’m tall!
  2. I don’t have to swim to clear puddles or shallow bodies of water.

Despite the cons clearly outweighing the pros, I have been spending time on Niremere and Daschela anyway.  What’re friends for, right, if not confusing you with their unpredictable stature and getting you killed on a regular basis?  Daschela’s still leveling, of course:

Feign Death at Skill Levels 1, 2 and 3 1: Elevis, my pet, has failed to Feign.  (Why can't pets Feign?) 2: Daschela Feigns fine. 3. Soc "Feigns" by hiding all his HP.

Feign Death at Skill Levels 1, 2 and 3
1: Elevis, my pet, has failed to Feign. (Why can’t pets Feign?)
2: Daschela Feigns fine.
3. Soc “Feigns” by hiding all his HP.

Things frequently go wrong in the classroom at Scholomance, so I’m ready at a moment’s notice to drop to the floor and wait for sheeyit to clear.  (And why can’t pets Feign along with their owners yet?  I mean seriously.)

On the 90’s side, Nir’s running been some LFR for gear:

Not My Fault Niremere.  Party leader, tank killer, raid wiper.

Not My Fault
Niremere. Party leader, tank killer, raid wiper.

When she’s not causing her beartank to plummet into the void, Nir has been having some semi-brilliant and mostly obvious ideas.  For example: using Vuhdo’s Buff Watch to tell when Inquisition is off!  Theoretically, she’ll hit a bit more like a dry noodle and less like a wet one now!

8 thoughts on “Some Things Never Get Old

  1. Anoukisse

    LMAO
    This entire post had me smiling. I don’t know how you can think this humorously all the time, but your turn of phrase, your smooth cussing, etc, it always has me rolling. I mean, I don’t like people who typo on purpose (i.e. “hai” instead of “hi”). But when you do it, it’s just so right.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah

      Why thanks! I try to find the humor in things because otherwise, I’d lose my freaking mind – which is just NOT WORTH IT in LFR. I’d rather be greatly amused than greatly irritated.

      As far as typoing on purpose goes, maybe it works because I use the rest of the English language mostly correctly. Or perhaps it works because I actually say crap like that in real life. I used to curse up a storm regular-style especially when angry, but alas – I’m about five foot four, have a “cute” voice and am generally cheery. So whenever I let loose with the language, people would laugh at me! :< I got tired of being told "OMG DID YOU JUST SAY @#$% THAT'S SO CUTE!" when I was angry, but I was also having hard time NOT cursing in general. So I started substituting things or putting the empHASis on the wrong sylLAble. It's silly and I know it, but it seems to FIT. At least, I don't get somebody patting me on the head when I'm trying to explain why XYZ made me so mad.

      Reply
  2. OneCrazyPaladin

    HAHA! That post was funny! 😀

    I play almost completely Alliance, but I still have to agree that Goblins are the best race. I wish all of my toons could be goblins. However, Goblins can’t be Paladins and Paladins are my favorite. Plus, my RL friends all play alliance.

    Goblins need to be paladins, dangit! Haha 😀

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah

      Oh, those glorious scenarios where my human paladerp, Niremere, found herself transformed into a goblin! Oh, the Valentine’s Day event, where you get transformed into a goblin courier! 100% proof that goblins can and should be paladins.

      And besides, if they can be warriors and priests, what’s to stop them from going 1+1=2?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

