“Midlevel Druid” Set

"Midlevel Druid" Set

“Midlevel Druid” Set

Class: Druid (with staff), Rogue, Monk

H: Tracker’s Headband | S: Spell Focus Shoulderguards | Cl: Not shown
Ch: Jinxed Hoodoo Skin | Wa: Runic Leather Belt | L: Kilt of Living Growth
G: Gloves of Restoration | Wr: Not shown | B: Not shown trollololol

Staff: Staff of the Verdant Circle

Status: Finished

Thoughts: This is the logical sequel to the “Lowbie Druid” Set and uses a couple of the same items, namely the staff (it’s just so druid-y!), gloves and the headband.  When I first planned this set, my druid was a night elf who wore shoes.  Of course, now that my druid is a troll named Betheki, I don’t really have to worry about shoes so much.

I kind of miss shoes.

Goa really wanted to level his warlock to 90, so I wound up leveling Betheki too.  Now that she’s at max level, it’s likely she’ll have some fancier “High Level Druid” outfits in the future.  Though I do have one more happy colorful druid yay outfit in the works, I’m kind of tired of the whole “green life” theme, so her other planned sets are much darker.  As Amber-Shaper Un’sok says, “From death comes life, and from life, death …”

11 thoughts on ““Midlevel Druid” Set

  1. kamaliaetalia

    Oooh, I really like that chestpiece & kilt combo! I’ve got that kilt, but I hadn’t yet spent any time figuring out what chestpiece to use with it yet — but I’ve got that one. I may just have to borrow that combination from you at some point 😉

    Reply
  2. Leit

    Green’s just laziness on the set designers’ part. Sure, it’s nature – but so are the brilliant feathers of tropical birds, or the delightful spectrum of orchids and tulips, or the ethereal glow of the northern lights. Hell, Lake Hillier (and a bunch of others) are bright neon pink – look for a colour in nature and you’ll find it. The most daring creative touch I can think of in recent memory for druids was the glowing blue mushroom outfit from Dragon Soul. WTB more of that.

    Reply
    1. myriade

      I thought the T14 set was pretty awesome! The tiger helm was FIERCE. Granted, I don’t do transmog very often (MY BAG SPACE OMG, also I’m just lazy) so I’ve got a bit of a limited perspective 😉

      Gotta admit the death/life idea sounds creepily interesting though…

      Reply
    2. Prinnie Powah Post author

      I was also thinking about mushrooms/fungus/whatnot thanks to the whole EXPLODING MUSHROOM skill, and how they’re typically associated with rot, breaking things down, etc., which in turn is good for the next things that grow. I love the Haunted Forest getup for druids because it reminds me a bit of this.

      I read a book once (already totally forgot what it’s called) that stated the mottled kind of tulip (like these: http://www.brecks.com/product/White-Fire-Parrot-Tulip/Tulip_Flower_Bulbs) is actually the result of some sort of disease or problem with the bulb itself!

      Reply
      1. Leit

        I swear you would have been around for the DS druid set with its psychedelic glowing ‘shrooms…

        The great thing about fungi is that mushrooms are only the tip of the iceberg. Fungi come in all sorts of shapes, sizes and colours, including glow in the dark variants. Yes, the LFR set would probably end up “nuclear snot green” anyway, but imagine designs based on some of the more lattice-y variants.

        If we start talking about decay, though, we have to start talking about fire as well. Druids of the flame made a lot of sense, since burning down the veldt so that it can regrow is a perfectly natural process. Hell, some trees only release their seeds at “oh god fiery cataclysm” heat levels.

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Powah Post author

          Yes, I’ve been around for the DS druid set. Just never see anybody wearing it, really. Also for some reason, it reminds me more of crystals + ropes. (And nuclear snot green is totally a legit color name, I swear! /should totally name paints for paint companies)

          Reply
          1. Leit

            The tragedy of that set is the helm doesn’t work very well with horde druid races – tauren snouts + horns are an issue, and troll tusks likewise (yeah yeah, female trolls, etc – *one face*. end of discussion.) The shoulders are the most striking element, and they’re extremely difficult to match up with anything else in druid-land. It’s… sad.

            Reply

Leave a Reply

