WoD is TRYING To Piss Me Off

First you got the whole “boy’s club” line and the whole boy’s club lineup.  But no, I say, I’m going to let that go for now, since we don’t know the entirety of the plot yet!  There was something else, but I already forgot.  Then there was flying, which in WoD thinking is all like, “FAST FLYING AND FLYING IN GENERAL IS BAD.”  Well, I like flying dammit, but I logically understand that the huge amount of gold I spent for something I value highly and that something itself are important to me, but not to designers who are thinking about the BIG PICTURE.  Shut up, emotions.  WoD is gonna be just fiiiiiiiiiiine.

But now, apparently, the WoD thinking is, “CASTING WHILE MOVING IS BAD.”

“We like casting on the move, but not as a default. Spiritwalker’s Grace is a good example of something we like; used intelligently, it can be very strong, and it feels good to use. On the other hand, Lightning Bolt always being castable on the move we’re less excited about. You don’t feel smart or skilled for using Lightning Bolt while you’re moving, it’s just sort of a free bonus that we’re not sure is really needed.”

Look, I’m not looking to feel smart or skilled when I’m running to the ranged maze path for Durumu, hitting Lightning Bolt over and over.  I’m doing it because it’s my only option.  1.) I have to move or die, 2.) one third to half of the LFR group is going to die during the first maze phase so it stands to reason WE HAVE TO GET HIM DOWN before a second occurs or we’ll all flat out die, 3.) I feel stupid just flat out running and Spiritwalker’s Grace is on cooldown, and 4.) I’M FREAKING DPS, I’M SUPPOSED TO MASH ALL THE BUTTONS BECAUSE NUMBERS.  Free bonus, you say?  Jeebus, talk to a casual player or two.  STOP ASKING ME TO MOVE EVERY SECOND WHEN I HAVE TO STAND STILL TWO SECONDS TO CAST A DAMN SPELL.

“It’s also important to note that the ability to use a cast-time spell while moving is only part of the issue. In fact, while there’s only a couple of classes that can do that, almost everyone has some number of instant cast spells they can use while moving. To really start shoring up the differences here, we need to reduce the number of instant cast spells as well. That includes healers.

Emphasis added.  Initial thoughts:

1.) Gee, does that mean you’re going to get rid of nerf druids, since that’s a huge chunk of what they do?

2.) As a shaman, I got one instant cast – Riptide – and it’s pretty much a useless POS on its own.  SO YEAH, TAKE AWAY THOSE INSTANT CASTS because WTF is this REALLY a huge issue?  (Obviously I’m being sarcastic and not considering all possible reasoning because I’m annoyed.)

But having to balance between moving and casting makes it INTERESTING, you say!  It’s more FUN, you say!  If the deeps gotta do it, heals gotta do it too!  It’ll be great FOR EVERYBODY.  A more challenging game of yayness!

TRY HEALING TORTOS AND THEN TELL ME THAT.

That sheeyit ain’t fun – that’s annoying.  Or a real pisser when people complain about your healing numbers and there’s nothing you can do because OMFG TURTLES EVERYWHERE.  There is a freaking reason why I try not to queue for Forgotten Depths as a healer – I HATE IT.

ARrrrrgughghad;gijhda;dkghhg

saldfkjaslkfjasldkfjaslkfdj This is how you do it.

saldfkjaslkfjasldkfjaslkfdj
This is how you do it.

(Quote Source: Now fixed!)

22 thoughts on “WoD is TRYING To Piss Me Off

  1. khizzara

    hahaha, omg you win at .gifs

    Yeah, in my opinion the problem isn’t with instant cast spells, it’s with encounter design that forces you to move so often that you can’t stand still long enough to cast even a single one of your nukes. I would quite happily stand in one place and cast spells if Blizzard would let me do it. But even on fights where it makes no freaking sense they add extra crap to force us to keep moving. (Flame Arrows on Galakras, anyone? They don’t even do a lot of damage, just enough to be annoying and make you move every 1.3 seconds.) Want me to cast a spell? Give me enough time to cast it, dammit.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      I can totally watch that gif forever. It’s mesmerizing.

      That’s exactly what I hate – they’re trying to create interestingness with frequent movement, but ranged casting classes, instant cast spells/spells on the move or no, aren’t really designed to move all the damn time. Sure, my frost mage has that one instant cast spell, but it does crap damage, so I already have incentive to stay still as long as possible to cast the better one. I’d LIKE to cast the bigger, better spell, but because they’re all about movement = interesting, and no movement = death, staying put to cast is at a disadvantage. I’m going to go for the instant cast spell because I can’t DPS when dead.

      Reply
  2. socalminstrel

    I’m sortof okay with it, despite my main healing spec being disc, which has a lot of instants and I assume would need to be redesigned to be more turret-y.

    Of course, full disclosure, my main spec overall recently has been shadow, which has had virtually nothing to cast on the move this whole expac (short of nerfing their DPS massively by taking very, very sub-optimal talents). So yessss…bring everyone else back to where shadow priests are! (Though I’d also have been fine with people not losing their cast-on-the-move stuff and giving shadow priests some.)

    I find the flying stuff more annoying.

    Reply
  3. wowstorylines

    It really sound like we’re taking four steps back and one forward or not – sounds an awful like the old BC with old revamp. I was looking forward to the new xpac and now, I’m not so sure.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      I tend to buy into the pendulum theory – our current Era of Convenience was a response to restrictions in older expacs that became burdensome over time. Likewise, the shift in thinking about flying, instant cast spells and other niceties is a response to a feeling folks have that things have become *too* easy. The very subject of the expac – going into the past, into the Authentic, back to Tried and True Old World WoW – is in itself a reaction to Pandaland being too out there, too different from Ye Days of Olde for the traditionalists amongst us.

      Say, hypothetically, that WoW lasts another ten years – we’ll swing right back. Sooner or later, somebody will say, “Hey, having to hold still to cast SUCKS.” The wording will be different – but we’ll be responding just as before to the limits placed on ourselves now.

      Reply
      1. wowstorylines

        I think that I am going to wait on purchasing the new xpack as long as it’s feasible because with the lack of flying and a crap ton of flying mounts on my accounts – it seems rather sad, that a “few” have made the decision. Damn, I hope it’s not the whole xpack that you can’t fly – I haven’t done any of the testing yet, so, I’m speaking from evidence on the forums.

        Reply
  4. myriade

    I’m pretty conflicted about this, because on one hand the BEST THING EVER about ele is being able to spam lightning bolt when I’m forced to run. Also when I’m being knocked back/up for NO GOOD REASON and hey look! I’m still casting! Same with being a resto druid with the nonstop instant casts CAN’T INTERRUPT THIS NANANANA.

    But on the other hand the main-a-melee-class side of me is just sitting here going, “MOOAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA NOW YOU SHALL FEEL THE PAIN”.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      Hey now, melee! It’s not my fault your arms are only so long and the tank dragged the boss just out of range! Why don’t they just increase the size of the hitbox or make melee range longer or something like that? I DON’T KNOW.

      I seem to recall the Lightning Bolt-being-castable-while-moving thing was a relatively recent change that coincided with hunters not having to stand still for Cobra Shot/Barrage/etc. because standing still was boring. I’ve liked the change a hell of a lot because 1.) encounter design and tanks make you move all the time, and 2.) it allows me to fill time that I would either be wasting waiting to land or running around in circles.

      Reply
  5. Talarian

    Feels like it’s aimed more at the PvP crowd, to be honest, but PvE will take the hit as always (and vice versa). I believe they’ve trotted out Spiritwalker’s Grace as the ideal way to do casting on the move, so I don’t foresee many changes to Shaman.

    Honestly, as a Holy Paladin I feel the same way. Tortos sucked so hard because my options were Holy Shock for 50k/100k once every 6 seconds, and spend that 1 Holy Power on a tiny Eternal Flame. Judicious usage of Holy Avenger and Divine Favor helped, but for the most part I just ran around flailing. Extremely frustrating.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      The only time I will voluntarily heal Tortos is when I am playing my druid. This is specifically because getting interrupted all the damn time does not matter, especially if I’ve used Symbiosis to get Spiritwalker’s Grace (yay movable Tranquility). Any other character doing healing? I did it to get friends a faster queue and I’m regretting my kindness.

      It’s like, look, if you want me to stand still while casting, really, I’ll do that – IF YOU LET ME. But nooooooooooooo turtles everywhere.

      Reply
  6. mataokashaman

    Not okay with it in the least: this is why my favorite healers have been druid>priest>shaman, and I darn near cried when they took most of the casting spells away from my warlock. This aggression will not stand, man. What the SHOULD do is make melee classes have more health. But that’s just me.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      I get confused when I don’t have one spell that I can cast while moving. It’s one reason I ❤ shaman and warlock (with the talent for it selected), and why I just can't seem to mage. I can't mage because I'm always moving when I need to stand still, or I'm standing still to nuke crap in the face when I need to be moving.

      Reply
  7. wolfgangcat

    Yeah, I hate not having any instant casts except SW:P and *maybe* DP *if* I can get an orb or two up before moving. I’ve run oom more than a few times spamming SW:P because it’s all I’ve got. Sure, let’s up the movement requirements on encounters *and* take away instant casts.
    Sometimes I wonder if they even play their own game.

    I’m really mad about the no-flying-til-patch baloney. When I hit 100, I want my flying back – not some convoluted “quest” or “scenario” to get it. I’m betting it will be available for purchase in the cash shop, though.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      I feel like we’re fooling ourselves if we believe that restricting or getting rid of flying causes greater immersion. The thought process seems to be that a lack of immersion leads to a lack of caring leads to a lack of engaged players leads to a lack of players leads to a lack of WoW.

      Yet immersion by itself does not guarantee caring, and forced immersion does nothing but build small resentments. I can understand the first run through on ground mounts to a degree, as I usually am very into an area when I first go through it, but only to a degree, because my interest is not due to my inability to fly. It is because the content is new to me. By the time I’m leveling my 11th alt, nothing will cause me to be more immersed, more engaged or more interested in the world around me. I’ve come up with my patterns, my path of least resistance. I may change it on a whim (let’s do Dread Wastes!), but the fact that I can’t fly does not in any way ameliorate the fact that I have this or that over and over by now.

      (p.s., I skip cut scenes after the first time I watch them.)

      I already dislike areas where I am forced to the ground (ISLE OF THUNDER OMFG) With flying, I am immersing myself in the world to the degree I choose. I choose this method for speed (I have a limited of time in which to play). But to some, this approach minimizes combat which in turn trivializes the game. The thing is, the *WoW Experience* is far more complex than me fighting to get to the next quest point.

      Never mind the fact that I have saved and paid for max flying on every last one of my ten level 90s.

      Reply
      1. wolfgangcat

        Yeah Isle of Thunder is hardly “immersion” when you can’t take two steps without fighting a bunch of mobs. All the baloney about “immersion” is nothing more than a code word for “slow you down to stretch out content.” Give me interesting and engaging content and I’ll happily drag my 10 90s through it. Annoying the crap out of me isn’t “immersion.” Sorry, I can’t be fooled by that anymore 😛

        Reply
  8. Pingback: Stand by Me: Thoughts on Instant Casts in Warlords | Harpy's Nest Blog

  9. Pingback: So Tired. So, So Tired. | That Was an Accident!

Leave a Reply

