Six Point OH CRAP

The Day of Reckoning All of us less attractive types knew our day would come.

The Day of Reckoning
All of us less attractive types knew our day would come.

So, the pre-orcfest patch has landed.  Most importantly, the Horde has been beautified to a degree where the blood elves no longer stand out as the paragons of good hair and platekini.

Speaking of beautiful people with gorgeous hair, can we talk about the background for the Battle.net thingie?  Can we change it?  My monitor’s a bit on the small side, so all I really see of Grom is his nipple ring, which is rather unappealing.

Grom's Nipple Ring Once you notice it, you'll never unsee it.

Grom’s Nipple Ring
Once you notice it, you’ll never unsee it.

Prinnie’s Top 4 AMAAAAAZING Things About the Patch

1. The Toy Box
OH.  MY.  GAWD.  I have the Skymirror on all my characters now.  Let me repeat that.  I have the Skymirror on all my characters now.  And all the random toys I stuck in Void Storage?  GONE!  MORE MOG SPACE IS MINE!  IT’S BRILLIANT!

That's Amazing

That’s Amazing

2. OMFG GHOST WOLF

New and Improved Seriously!  On the old model, you could look straight up its backside and out the mouth!

New and Improved
Seriously! On the old model, you could look straight up its backside and out the mouth!

3. ERMAGERD PETS
I need this hydra and that purple one and that other hydra and this one too plzkthx.

4. PEACE AT LAST
Nobody’s repeatedly choking that one banker in the middle of the Valley of Strength bank anymore!  Hooray!  No more listening to NPCs repeating themselves while I ponder my transmog organization.


Prinnie’s Top 3 Most Hated Things

1. Unleash Weapon
Wait wait wait.  So you mean that in order to maintain optimal DPS, I gotta hit this stupid button every fifteen seconds?  Are you kidding me?  There’s a reason I hated Inquisition, the mage playstyle and so on.

2. Blue Bug Eyes
Why, exactly, are female draenei eyes blue?  It’s kind of creeping me out.

3. Wait, Wat
Niremere used to have an angry face.  Then she got duckface.  I’m not entirely sure what happened, but maybe I’ll get used to it.  If not, to a barbershop we go!

Never Noticed These Before They make me feel ... concerned.

Never Noticed These Before
They make me feel … concerned.


 

My goal before WoD drops is to get a fancy new mog for the front-line team.  WE GOTTA LOOK GOOD.

6 thoughts on “Six Point OH CRAP

  1. Neri (@nerisanda)

    Those blue bug eyes are the reason why sole goal before WoD drops is to level engineering and acquire goggles for transmog. I LOVE the hair, hate the eyes. It seems like a good compromise!

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      I still don’t understand the reasoning behind the blue. Their eyes were soooo white in their older model. (I noticed that the night elf eyes seem to be blue behind the eye glow … so maybe spacegoats are missing eye glow?) It just bugs me because draenei really have a muted sort of color scheme despite being purple people, but then you got those peepers. BRIGHT BLUE EYES HI THERE.

      Reply
      1. Neri (@nerisanda)

        That’s exactly how I feel about it. My Death Knight doesn’t look anywhere near as bad as my Monk does because she has the frosty eye glow that comes with the class. I thought maybe Blizzard were just straight up done with eye glow, but then, yeah, Night Elves still have it. Hopefully they’ll give us some glow in a hotfix or something!

        Reply
  2. Pingback: First Glance at WoW 6.0 | The Ancient Gaming Noob

  3. Talarian

    As someone who plays both Ret (and is happy Inquisition is gone), and Enhance, I disagree with your point on Unleash Elements. The difference comes down to how the two were used.

    Inquisition ate Holy Power, which literally meant instead of hitting something with Templar’s Verdict, you HAD to use Inquisition to increase your DPS on all abilities by a flat percentage. There’s no thought to it, it must be up at the expense of other abilities.

    Old level 90 talent Evocation meant you had to stop EVERYTHING for 3 seconds to channel Evocate to increase your DPS on all abilities by a flat percentage. There’s no thought to it, it must be up at the expense of other abilities.

    Unleash Elements, while no longer doing damage (sad face 😦 ), still has a purpose outside of just a blanket damage increase. Are you going to use it to boost Flame Shock? Or should you save it to boost Fire Nova instead? Depending on the pull, that decision can be the difference between a massive amount of DPS and a lot less DPS. There’s also the skill cap in ensuring you use it paired with Flame Shock correctly or you overwrite a stronger DoT with a weaker one. Not fatal, but definitely noticeable if you get consistently good at it.

    Those pieces make Unleash Elements significantly different from Inquisition, and allows for a gradient of skill rather than just hitting things in a static priority order. Not to mention there’s room in the rotation for Unleash Elements since there was always room in our rotation for it prior, and our rotation pretty much didn’t change, so we’re not using it at the expense of other abilities. We have GCD gaps (which is good).

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      I’ve had this reaction with the pre-Pandaland patch as well. I was horribly pissed when they made Shadow Word:Pain something you had to recast every few seconds and something that didn’t refresh when you used the purple laser. I was horribly pissed when totems went from lasting a minute or more to lasting a few seconds. It comes down to the fact that I am not a “thoughtful” player. I don’t enjoy knotty problems of skill interaction, super-intense mechanics-based challenges, etc. etc. etc. I am an “emotional” player, an “explorer,” and a “collector.” Most of the time, I don’t devote myself to a single main. I have a handful of alts I prefer, and then a lot of alts I level just to see what the class is like and also to get more mog with.

      Because of this, I really CAN appreciate that it has a point and it doesn’t consume resources a la Inquisition, but it remains the appreciation of an academic. As a player who just wants to *play* vs. exploring how every little skill and cooldown can increase my DPS, I have absolutely no appreciation for it whatsoever. The brain can’t shake the gut feeling that any button requiring my attention once every 15 seconds or so is a total pain in the ass.* Hence why I mention Inquisition/mage-ing, which I view as similar. Having to frequently interrupt what I’m doing (casting the Cool Stuff OMFG!!1!11) with skill that’s visually indistinct in and of itself, and WORSE, has an end result that is only noticeable to the skilled and those paying attention, is taking time away from what I like doing (MOAR LAVA) and devoting that time/energy to something that has no immediate, discernible effect *unless* I also happen to be watching and tracking via Recount. But again, I’m not the thoughtful player using the raid dummies to gauge my DPS and how various talents impact that. I’m the player running around squealing about OMFG LIGHTNING and collecting all the mog. (AND I have to pay attention not standing in bad. AND I like holding conversations with my fellow players. When am I supposed to find the time to stick a 15 second cooldown into my rotation?)

      Unleash does make my hands more fiery. My instinctive feelings go “yay!” for that.

      … and then I think “once every 15 seconds,” and that feeling of elation is quickly gone.

      *Admittedly, my “PITA Limit” includes any skill that has to be recast frequently, which is anywhere from 15 seconds up to a grand total of five minutes. This would be why I always ignored Inquisition except when *trying really hard* to be a Good DPS. I also ignored the DK Horn of Winter thing and glyphed that sucker as soon as I could so that it lasted a freaking hour.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

