Barbarian At the (Garrison) Gates

Or, “How Ignitine Unexpectedly  Took Over WoD.”  Don’t remember Ignitine?

"Sha" Set

“Sha” Set

She’s the one who likes bad hats, blew up a microwave FOR SCIENCE and manipulated Esplodine into trapping herself in the AH.  All around good sort, really.

Bombelina was leveled first out of loyalty and love, but elemental shamans got changed in a way that made me feel slow and wimpy and just kind of not all there.  First I’d try to do the Unleash Weapon bit properly, but I never felt like I could see a significant difference in it.  May not have been looking at my numbers in the right way, I suppose, but there were also those moments where I’d use Ascendance without Bloodlust, and I would so regret it because I was slooooow without it so little lava what the hell I feel let down.

So then I leveled Thermalix, because hunter!  Turns out that I still love pets and Feign Death.  (OMFG NOW THERE’S A GLYPH THAT MAKES YOUR PET FEIGN DEATH TOO.  Now I don’t have to decide between trying to dismiss before Feigning, or letting my pet die alone!)  It also turns out that I’m still bad at managing Focus when in button mashing mode (which is often), and that makes it rather hard to DPS.  Still, the role of “the main” was going to one of the two.  Shaman and hunter are my favorite classes, after all!  I started leveling Daschela (also a hunter) to see the Alliance side of things while pondering which rotation I had more affinity for – “Slowpants” mode or “Out of Focus Forever.”

At some point I randomly decided to quest far enough on Ignitine to get her first follower.

Badass Battle Yak of Death Don't question it.

Badass Battle Yak of Death
Don’t question it.

Lo and behold, I was laying waste to everything in my path.  Rare?  Pshaw.  Elite mob supposedly requiring a group to kill?  BS, I GOT DIS.  I was assured that this phase of warlockian OPness would even out as I leveled through Draenor, but it didn’t.  It wasn’t like going through all the zones as a shaman or a hunter had been all that hard or anything, but this kind of destruction was great.

Laughed Like This From zone to zone to zone, HAHAHAHAHA.

I Laughed Like This
From zone to zone to zone, HAHAHAHAHA.

Daschela got dropped like a hot potato as the siren song of Rain of FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIRE drew me back Hordeside.  Then at some point in Talador, I stopped simply leveling and started imagining how Ignitine would respond to things in the quest text.  I probably overestimate the hilarity in my humor, but even so, this development somehow doubled the awesomeness.

Ignitine the Quest Once I started, I just kept seeing the whole zone from Ignitine's POV

Ignitine the Quest
Once I started, I just kept seeing the whole zone from Ignitine’s POV

Ignitine gleefully rode her Dire Yak from Talador to Spires of Arak to Nagrand, trashing almost everything along the way except when she got in waaaay over her head and pulled a million things at once (she claims it was an accident).  Suddenly, Draenor wasn’t just the world in which I happened to level my characters to 100 when they weren’t sitting in their Garrisons.  It got stupid, and it got fun.

Hope Burns Eternal You never know.  There COULD be something cool in there.

Hope Burns Eternal
You never know. There COULD be something cool in there.

Another example would be Pickles the Old God Frog (once again, featuring the conversational talents and/or bad idea encouragements of Shanthi):

Pickles, the Old God I went back and looked for him, but he wasn't there. Actually dead, or IN ANOTHER PLANE OF EXISTENCE?

Pickles, the Old God
I went back and looked for him, but he wasn’t there. Actually dead, or IN ANOTHER PLANE OF EXISTENCE?

When I hit 100, I threw myself into Bronze/Silver proving grounds ASAP, rather than dragging my feet because WTF why am I doing this again?  I’m even considering getting Green Fire.  So I think at this point it’s fairly safe to declare Ignitine “the main” for the expac.  Sure, I don’t have a Bloodlust of any sort and I can’t switch between healing and DPS, but I’m actually having a good time instead of a just “decent” one.

Heheheheheheheheh The joy of combining derp with destruction never ends.

Heheheheheheheheh
The joy of combining derp with destruction never ends.

4 thoughts on “Barbarian At the (Garrison) Gates

  1. kamaliaetalia

    Hahahahaa, I love Ignitine’s responses to the quest givers and situations!
    You are making me want to bring my Warlock out to Draneor RIGHT NAO! I definitely had fun with her burninating up the world in Pandaria — to me, Destro Lock feels like the most fun of the fire-themed class/spec combos to play. I’m thinking I might try to do Green Fire up to the Kanrethad scenario first, though, then come back and whup Kanrethad when I’m level 100 and my followers have brought me some nice purples.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

