All Things In Their Turn

OMFG Yes, the time has come.

OMFG
Yes, the time has come.

My subscription will lapse soon.

It always seemed to me that a lot of what we saw in WoD was a reaction to MoP.  Mists represented a pinnacle of enjoyment for me, just as it presented a picture of a game gone wrong to others.  I generally saw it as a reasonable balance between work and reward.  Running my ass off to level 90 won me the convenience that I sought in flying, for example, and it was a system that allowed me to indulge in my fondness for alts.  But others saw the whole production as a game that was too easy with a plot that had too little “Warcraft” in it, and so on.

Those voices won, and we got WoD and orcs out the wazoo.  Perhaps that’s not surprising.  I always got the feeling that the WoW development team doesn’t identify with the “casual” player in the same way they do with players who see themselves as “gamers,” or even “hardcore.”  There is an assumption that the game is meant to be enjoyed in a certain way, and other ways – flying out of trouble is the most obvious – are not as legitimate and should not be designed for.

It’s not necessarily a bad thing.  Doing the same thing day in and day out will keep some of the same people around – the type who appreciate that consistency, or those who liked it that way to start with and don’t see much reason to change.  But it does make it more difficult to hold onto players like me.  I have no interest in returning to the game’s “roots,” nor do I seek an “authentic” or even an “immersive” experience.

I seek an enjoyable experience that is accessible to me within the time I have available, and that would be just about the last way I’d describe WoD and the final nail in the coffin for me, Tanaan.


Work Work Work Game Game Game Blog Blog Blog

Work Work Work
Game Game Game
Blog Blog Blog

The most bittersweet thing isn’t leaving the game so much as it’s leaving this blog.  It’s certainly possible that I will return to WoW again in the future, in which case this blog will also see a new day.  But for now, I’ve moved on to FFXIV and made a new blog for it here: The Fanciest Pants.

“That Was an Accident!” has been one of the best (worst?) things I’ve ever put on the internet and one of the most fun timesinks I’ve ever occupied myself with.  As of writing this post, “That Was an Accident!” has 71,755 views and 2,313 comments, not all of which are me!  The numbers are small potatoes for some, but I’ve never put anything on the internet so popular before – and this popularity meant I met a lot of folks that I would have otherwise never encountered.

Thank you in particular to:

  • Matty, Tome, and the other ladies of the Old Ladies Raiding Guild
  • Kashina, Shanthi and Rep of Loot Hoarders
  • Saya and other blog friends I dragged around the world searching for mog
  • Leit, a guy I never played with but who always had something to say

I also want to say thank you to my best buddies in-game, Cavarin and Goa, who kept me company on many a day and odd mission.  You guys are the best!

33 thoughts on “All Things In Their Turn

  1. kamaliaetalia

    Aw, Prinnie, I thought you might be headed this way. I’ll miss your hilarious commentary on WoW, but perhaps I’ll take a peek at your search for the Fanciest Pants now and then. Best of the best with everything to you! 😀

    Reply
  2. bhagpuss

    Sorry to see the end (for now – who knows how the next expansion may appeal to you) of That Was An Accident. It’s been one of my favorite blogs since I discovered it a couple of years ago. It was your crazy goblin tales that got me to start a free WoW account and play through the goblin starting area.

    Great to hear the end of your time in WoW doesn’t mean the end of your blogging career though. Looking forward to reading your (mis)adventures in Eorzea.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      Indeed, we shall see. The last time I quit WoW, it was simply because my guild dropped off the map and I was bored without anyone to talk to. I still liked the game. This time around, though, it’s different because I’m just SO burned out. Before, it didn’t take much to get me to come back. Now, though, it’s going to take a sheeyit load to impress me. Maybe that will chill in time and I’ll be easily excited again.

      For now, I’ll stick to trying to dyeing my chocobo different colors.

      Reply
  3. tomeoftheancient

    Oh nooooooo! I love Prinnie posts! I can understand though. I will hope that the next expansion might be such that you might feel like writing here again. I’ll have to drop by the Fanciest Pants until and if that happens.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      List of Things I Would Come Back For:
      1. If they make a woman Warchief
      2. If a major pre-existing female character does stuff of her own volition and not because of crazy/baby/something happened to the man in her life
      3. If Sassy Hardwrench was either of the above
      4. If Sassy Hardwrench became a major player in the plotline
      5. If the Horde isn’t represented by orc architecture every damn place it goes
      6. More goblin-themed customization for garrisons and any similar features became available
      7. RNG is abolished so I can finish my damn mog sets without waiting half a year to do it
      8. If gearing up doesn’t make me want to punch myself in the face
      8a. If my special tokens actually get me a piece of gear when I use them, instead of more gold
      9. If crafting doesn’t make me want to punch myself in the face, a la 100 pieces of cloth for a single bag when I have more than 11 freaking alts to make multiple bags for
      10. We get casting while moving back
      11. We get flying back with no rep grinds
      12. Armor appearances are saved in something like the toybox so I can have bag space again without having to make 100 pieces of cloth for a single bag, because that’s just too damn much when you have more than 11 alts

      I GOT MY FINGERS CROSSED

      Reply
      1. Leit

        I was gonna say that the preliminary releases for the next xpac make it sound like The Greatest Hits Request Album of Player Wishlisting, buuut… yeah, should’ve figured your priorities would be a bit different. 😛

        Also, thanking people for spouting unqualified opinions on everything? What do you think this is, THE INTERNET? 😀 (kinda hard to group with someone who’s NA when you’re EU, qq)

        Got no context at all for Final Fantasy, but humour is, at its best, universal. Best of luck to you, your pants, and your fancy pointed pony, and I’ll check in for the lulz.

        Reply
        1. Prinnie Powah Post author

          The story of my life could be centered around how my priorities never quite sync with those of the masses around me.

          And the thing is, you spouted unqualified opinions about everything ON MY BLOG! That makes it BETTER! Or at least, somewhat relevant! 😀

          I may name the pony “Bert.”

          Reply
      2. Mama Druid

        Four of them are certainly addressed. Possibly more – I can’t say for certain though. Three are definitely not. Sooo… how many of these things have to be checked off to warrant your return?

        Reply
          1. Mama Druid

            1. Maybe 2, as it’s not yet clear (to me) how 1 happened – a man had something to do with it, but not due to a baby or love… depends on your flexibility. 🙂

            5 is an ish. You’ll spend time in a class-themed area instead of an orc-themed garrison. Still plenty of spikes on existing orc architecture.

            7 could be an ish as well. It entirely depends on what you are after and whether or not a same-armor-type character “learned” the appearance. The new wardrobe feature is amazing. See 12.

            12 is a god send.

            The nos, as far as I know and that’s not saying much, are 3, 4, 6 (sorry goblins!), 9, and 11. I don’t know about 8 or 10.

            It’s worth a look, I think! I really enjoyed the time I spent milling around in beta trying different race/class combos.

            Reply
  4. Cymre

    Hopefully the expansion will have something to entice you back. I am so with you on the Orc architecture though and will happily say farewell to my snowy home when that time comes. WoD will always hold a special place in my heart though even if it hasn’t been the most well received expansion.

    Reply
  5. Saya

    Looking forward to reading more of your hilarious posts on Fanciest Pants! I’ll see you around Eorzea – finally made an alt on Faerie 😀 Also, you can dye your chocobo….? O.O OMG…the possibilities!

    Reply
  6. repgrind

    ((((hugs)))) I’ve been up and down and in and out with this expansion too, although I’m still plugging along on at least one character. They just made it so hard to enjoy alts. I’ve loved your blog so much for the humor and sarcasm … it made my day on many occasions. I’ll be following your FF adventures. 🙂

    Reply
  7. khizzara

    I totally understand. I had cancelled my sub at one point, and only just barely came back when they decided they were going to allow flying at some point. But I’m still not playing much. However, I am going to miss you so much! I love your sense of humor and how you see the world. I’m worried about losing touch with you because we mostly talk in game. I really hope you keep updating your other blogs.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      Clearly, the best option here is to also pick up FFXIV for non-raidtime, so we can complain about how much chocobos eat and were the designers on crack or what?

      Reply
  8. Shanthi

    But…but…this was grade-A internets. I’m more going to miss you being around in game, but I understand how you feel. I also have less passion for the game than I had in Mists (an expansion that I also consider a high point in WoW, every bit as good as Wrath and maybe even better). I hope you enjoy FFXIV and I hope that maybe someday WoW returns to being a game you’d have fun in.

    tl;dr I’ll miss you. *hugs*

    Reply
  9. Mama Druid

    Sad news indeed, but understandable. I unsubbed in March and am just now beginning to think about returning, but on a new account – a drastic change I considered for months before I unsubbed.

    MoP was my favorite. I loved the stories, the frequent reminders to “slow down” and really enjoyed how Pandaren culture was portrayed. I loved how Pandarens lived. WoD never came across that way to me. It felt more like a series of go heres and do thises. I love exploring zones, but left WoD without completely exploring all the places. Atypical of my gaming style.

    Although I didn’t comment much, I very much enjoyed reading your posts and the frequent smiles or chuckles your humorous style gave me, especially how integrated gifs and imagery. 🙂 Thank you for that!

    Great list of things that will bring you back! I look forward to seeing what actually does. IF you do, of course.

    Reply
    1. Prinnie Powah Post author

      We’ll find out whether or not something in the new expac brings me back. Things are too preliminary as of yet to say – who knows what will actually get realized in game and what will end up being an afterthought? (Alas, although reviving dead bosses seems to be something of a WoW tradition, Illidan doesn’t do it for me.) I’ll probably start paying more attention to expac-related news once it seems like a release date is in the works.

      Reply
  10. sunblood and/or philotheos

    I was always envious of the enjoyment you got from the game. I’ve always struggled with finding what I loved with this game anymore. Throwing up on rp’ers in bars only last for so long. You were an amazing part of the experience (not the throwing up part).

    Reply
          1. sunblood and/or philotheos

            I think at this point, anything as long as it’s adventurous, and with friends. Even console friends have been slacking :/

            Reply
              1. sunblood and/or philotheos

                NOT that I’m against it, but I have been playing quite a bit of Heroes of the Storm and Hearthstone. I must read up on FFXIV.

                Reply
  11. Kev

    I feel ya. I completely stopped playing Warcraft a year ago to fully focus on my life. I don’t regret it because i’ve changed SO much.

    Reply
  12. Carl

    Noooooo! I’ve been lurking your blog for a while now, have to say I’m really going to miss it. Hope you’re back for the expansion. Maybe not for Illidan, but maybe he has a nice pair of pants.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

